You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radiation on our way to and on MARS - Colonization of MARS Series

in #mars6 years ago

Hey @alexdory, I really enjoyed reading this article. I'm fascinated by astronomy but I really don't have much knowledge. I find this article very explicitly written.

A sievert (Sv) is an International System of Units approved means of measuring the health effects of ionizing radiation.

It is my first time of seeing the unit "sievert". I will like to know the limit the human body can take before the effects begins to manifest. Although you mentioned that different people react to radiation in different ways, but there should be some range of values, which when attained becomes unacceptable.

Sort:  

Of course:
The sievert is the special name for the SI unit of equivalent dose, effective dose, and operational dose quantities. The unit is joule per kilogram.

PBS has an interesting chart regarding that:

I grew up too close to Chernobyl and I was born right when it happened.

Please mind the "using a cellphone does not produce ionizing radiation* and does not cause cancer".

*unless it's a bananaphone :)

That's serious. The chernobyl accident is the most disastrous of all nuclear explosion in history.

I hope you are fine? Considering that you were born around that time and in that vicinity.

Yes, my mother is a medical doctor. I got a sufficient intake of Iodine so that my body would not try to absorb any from the atmosphere. It is one of the most easily absorbed radioactive substances but also one of the fastest to decay. It was not deemed very dangerous. Romania is the fish-shaped country right above the cursor in the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31