You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Farming on MARS: Challenges and the existing technological options - Colonization of MARS Series

in #mars6 years ago

It's great to see that all of the building blocks are present to be able to sustain plant life on Mars.

It is going to be quite expensive to get the materials there, though. Especially considering the nitrogen requirements.

We just need to be extracting [nitrogen] from the atmosphere and fix it in the subsoil...

Now you've got me thinking about whether it would be cheaper to just send fertilizer from Earth to Mars or figure out how to operate the Haber process on Mars. Either option requires sending extensive amounts of materials there. As a chemical engineer, now I'm thinking about the design constraints of such a process in lower pressure and gravity. haha

Thanks for this article. I think you did a great job presenting all of the issues surrounding plant life on Mars in a readable, easy-to-understand way. Keep up the good work. I can't wait to see more articles like this.

Sort:  

I was referring to the Haber process :D but I didn't have time to write about that too. I would make the most boring articles otherwise. I usually search on steemit and provide a link. I will do that before the article locks itself :D if i find a good enough Haber process article on steemit.

Update: I managed to edit that in, actually found two friends that wrote great pieces about it.
Thanks for the input. I don't vote you enough, I know!

I think the Haber process is fascinating. First, because it gave rise to modern farming, and secondly, because hardly anyone has heard of it. It's so important to everyone's lives, but it's one of the marvels of science that largely gets neglected.

Also, the design process is fascinating to me. They had to construct something that could safely operate at huge pressures. No doubt we'll have to do the same thing if we ever stretch out to living on other planets.

Thanks for your thoughts. I haven't really seen any other articles about the Haber process here, but I'm glad that #steemstem is encouraging people to write more posts like this. If I wasn't so busy with my other initiatives, I'd probably write more science-themed posts, too.

I know, I am also trying to cover a lot of ground, but contribute to many things so if they won't be upset that I am only trying to help everyone, I will continue writing about the things I like, it's the only advice that I can give you. At the end of my posting day I am usually happier :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49