I Don't Make Assumptions About My Marriage - Do You?

in #marriage3 years ago

Don't make assumptions. Assumptions are very costly. If you don't know what is going on in your marriage, how do you know if there is a problem? You can't assume that there isn't a problem.


Make assumptions responsibly. We all make them in life and in marriage. But do those assumptions have to be expensive ones? Not at all! In fact, your assumptions about your spouse and your marriage will cost you more than they are worth if they aren't corrected.

For example, when I was in my early 30's, I assumed that the relationship I had with my husband was fine. And he made assumptions about me too. He said that I was attractive and a great mother. He said that we were both comfortable with each other. But, I found out soon enough that he really didn't feel that way at all. He was stressed and angry that things were going so badly.

So, what did I do? I changed my assumptions and turned them around. Instead of saying that he was a jerk, I said that I needed some space. Instead of saying that our marriage wasn't working, I said that it was going to work. I simply wanted to enjoy my marriage and him until he was ready for a better one. It worked!

So, you should stop making assumptions. They are not helpful. They are dangerous. And most of the time, they just don't change anything. Unless you have changed them dramatically, your marriage will just carry on the way it is.

But, what if you don't want to? What if you have fixed your marriage and you know that your spouse doesn't have to go through what you are going through? If that's the case, then you have a choice to make. You can live with a miserable marriage and hope that in time things will improve, or you can get busy fixing the problems and making your marriage better.

If you choose to do nothing about your issues, then you are simply letting them fester! And that is no way to have a successful marriage. So, do something about it. Make assumptions weak and you will be able to address issues much more easily.

How many assumptions have you made about your spouse that have actually caused your problems? Don't feel guilty! You were just doing what you thought you were supposed to do... but deep down you knew that your assumptions were wrong! I'm sure there were other issues that led to your unhappiness. Whatever it is, now you have corrected it. And your marriage will be better because of it!

One thing that many people don't realize is that they make assumptions too often. And those assumptions can cause major problems in their relationships. That's why it's important that you pay attention to what you are doing. And not just when you think that you are being attacked.

When it comes to your marriage, you need to be on the lookout all the time. You need to see what is causing problems and what you can do about it. You never know when problems are about to erupt. So, if you are thinking that your marriage has problems, you should keep a close eye on them!

If you really want to save your marriage, you have to take action. No waiting around for problems to surface. You have to be proactive. Being reactive is just a way of not dealing with situations. In your marriage, you have to deal with problems as they occur instead of trying to figure out a way to avoid them.

If you don't want to end up just like so many other couples out there who have tried to save their marriage but failed, you have to make assumptions, too. Make sure that you are willing to learn from your past mistakes and from others that have had experiences similar to yours. By doing so, you will have more knowledge about your situation and be better prepared for the future. And that's how to make changes, right?

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 31 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61