Use "OK" To Stop Trivial Arguments Before They Start

in #marriage8 years ago

Are you married or in a serious relationship? I've passed the 32 year mark on this marriage, so I've learned a thing or two about arguments between people who love each other.

My wonderful bride has many, many opinions on everything. Some of those opinions are just wrong. But, I've learned over the years I don't need to be right all the time. This is one of the secrets for anyone in a relationship. The basic decision is between, usually, being right or being happy.

Here's a simple example. She'll say, "It's supposed to snow today." I'll say, "I think that's the forecast for tomorrow." She'll say, No, it's supposed to snow later today." I say, "Oh, OK." I say OK because I really don't care 1) when it will start to snow or 2) if she or I are right. And if it starts snowing tomorrow, I never, ever, ever say that I was right! That would be bad.

Don't get me wrong. If it's a serious mistake or I have a very strong opinion of something, I'll voice it. But, really, are most of these subjects worth an argument that might end up in some kind of dark, funky statement like, "Oh, you must think I'm an idiot." By the way, that is definately not a time to use the "OK" tool.

Sort:  

I use yes dear frequently.

Congratulations @iammagicman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @iammagicman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60