The Kind Of Man I Can't Submit To

in #marriage6 years ago

I once took a ride, via Uber trip, which opened my eyes to a part of me, reaffirming what I already knew.
uber-logo-decal-sticker-uber-logo-800x800.png
So the driver, trying to get good ratings, offered great customer services; offering to buy me things, charge my phone, and make me chocolate drink, all of which I declined. I was fine.
His offers made me relax with him, enough to discuss personal beliefs and religious views. Somehow, we got to talk on marriage.
I am of the opinion, that it is safer and more sensible to get married to one with whom you share the same beliefs. Our beliefs, to a large extent, determine our behaviours; our beliefs always affect our actions. Different beliefs chart different paths. In marriage, the couple should be travelling one road.
images.jpeg
So I told him I am a Seventh Day Adventist, and it is advised that we marry within the church, considering the fact that our beliefs are somewhat peculiar. Expectedly, he disagreed, saying that the Christendom is one, in as much as the said denomination believes on the Bible.
Somehow, the discussion left the issue of beliefs and went into marriage where he talked about a wife’s submission to her husband, and how its absence is the reason for many broken marriages.
I believe a woman should submit to her husband. I believe what the Bible says, and I have seen the beauty when a woman submits to her husband and the husband loves his wife; it is a really beautiful sight.
To me, the problem has never been submitting, the problem has always been minding who I choose to submit to, in other words, minding who I decide to marry.
My belief is not the crux of this write up though.
unnamed (4).jpg
I watched him as he made his point, and I saw the way he shut me up many times I tried to make a point, and I shook my head. From his words and expressions, lack of submission from his ex wife could be a major reason for the separation. I could see his annoyance at any woman who decides not to submit to her husband, but I saw something else.
I saw a man few women would want to submit to. I saw a man insecure in his stance that he tries to choke it down your throat instead of selling his points. I saw a man still hung up on his past, that he is perpetually on the defensive whenever a woman, any woman, disagrees with him. I saw a man who missed the memo that says a woman should submit to her husband, not her Uber driver.
I could be wrong though, but it’s what I saw.
images (1).jpeg
I saw the kind of man I can’t submit to.

All featured images are from Google.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93