5 Important Business Lessons I've Learned in 2019

in #marketing4 years ago (edited)

douglas james marketing.png

As a leading professional in the marketing field, many might assume that I’m going into the new year cruising in the last year’s success. On the contrary, I know the importance of mulling over 2019’s lessons so that I can turn 2020 into an even better year.

After establishing the Douglas James Marketing FB Page, I made it my mission to continue learning for my business and my clients. By turning every moment into a learning opportunity, I’ve become a better entrepreneur. My passion is to turn that knowledge into a valuable asset for my clients. These are 5 important business lessons I’ve learned in 2019.

Listen

The marketing field involves a lot of communicating, which often leads many to believe that it’s a lot of talking. Talking to your audience via ad copy, talking to your clients via email, talking to anyone who will listen… Many marketing professionals are simply talking in an attempt to try and expand their brand’s awareness to potential clients. It’s easy to get into the habit of talking – chatting with as many people as possible in the hopes that something you say will your audience’s attention. However, in my experience, it’s the listeners that have the most success. It’s with this success that I’ve learned to listen more to and for my clients.

Learn

I know that to be the best for my clients, I can never stop learning. I’ve dedicated myself and a large chunk of my time to simply honing my craft and it’s made a world of a difference. The most important lesson I’ve learned is that I will never stop learning lessons. That mindset has given me the confidence to be a strong marketing professional for my clients and open-minded enough to never let that confidence stop me from reaching new heights.

Grow

Listening and learning are two essential steps to success, but they’re important because they help you grow as a professional. It’s important to continue setting new goals to grow into, not only for your business, but also your personal development. By setting these goals, your endeavors are being backed by a drive to propel your forward.

Expand

It’s important to grow up and out. Expand your horizons; what can you become by changing the game a little bit? They say that you have to leave your comfort zone in an order to reach new heights. By expanding your knowledge and surprising even yourself, you can become a better professional in an unexpected way.

Rediscover Passion

It’s important to remember why you started. As you grow and spend time working within your desired field, it might become difficult to remember why you started. Take time to do something for yourself to reinstate the innate passion for your craft. Don’t let yourself become bogged down with the work that you were once passionate about. Keep your work lean and your passion strong.

The most important lesson is to be on the lookout for lessons, because there’s one around every corner for any entrepreneur looking to be better by the day!

Do you want to quit your 9-5 and earn 6 figures per year or more working from anywhere on earth? Check out my website or connect with me on LinkedIn and I'll tell you how!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26