Let's Bring the Funny Activist Duo, The Yes Men, to Steemit

in #marketing8 years ago (edited)


A few days ago I realized how much I'd enjoy having The Yes Men join us here on Steemit. They have a unique form of laughtivism (laugher + activism) that I personally appreciate and thought others in our community might as well.

I sent an email inviting them and those making other projects at Yes Lab last night and will let you know what if I get any responses from them (or ideally they just sign up and start posting.) I did some looking around and submitting through their Yes Lab contact form seemed like the best way to get in touch with them on this idea.

Full Message I Sent Them

I've been a fan of the Yes Men and their patent style of laughtivism for a number of years. For the last six months I've been a part of the new Steemit.com website that is decentralized, anti-censorship and transparent being build on a public blockchain (or ledger book.)

I simply wanted to invite the Yes Men and/or Yes Lab projects to sign up and share their work with us. Even just a teaser paragraph and a link to any standalone websites/blogs/etc is quite fine so it wouldn't take traffic away from that.

The Steemit community right now has a huge population of 'out of the box' thinkers with varying knowledge of cryptocurrency. Personally I feel that there is a quality audience for such work there AND posts that are made there can actually earn real money just from upvotes/likes that could be put towards their cause (or really however they like.)

An additional benefit is that with Steemit being decentralized, there is no way to have posts there shut down like what happened in the SharetheSafety.org website as well as other social media censoring more content in general lately. You could always be assured of having an outlet for your voices, regardless of what other sites/companies attempt to censor.

It's completely free to sign up, so if anybody would be interested in just register at https://steemit.com

While it's pretty easy to use, there is an interesting and complex structure behind it all. If anyone has questions feel free to email me at the address I provided above. My username there is @sykochica.

For Those Who Haven't Heard of The Yes Men

The Yes Men have produced three films that show how they raised awareness on political and social issues. This is usually done by "impersonate entities that they dislike, a practice that they call "identity correction". The Yes Men operate under the mission statement that lies can expose truth. They create and maintain fake websites similar to ones they intend to spoof, which have led to numerous interview, conference, and TV talk show invitations."

The Yes Men Film



The Yes Men Fix the World



The Yes Men are Revolting



One recent project of theirs that I thought would catch the eye of many here was entitled "Snowden Pardoned" which you can see in the video below:

One of the Yes Men even got to give their own Ted Talk!

I truly hope to see the Yes Men and other Projects from Yes Lab getting posted here on Steemit. Regardless of whether you love them or hate them, there's little denying that they would fit in rather well with our community here.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.




Image Sources:
The Yes Men Film
The Yes Men Save the World
The Yes Men are Revolting

Sort:  

Awesome Idea I love their work!

Ty! I really hope they're willing to sign up here. :)

wow, these guys are good at what they do! I'm interested to learn more and appreciate your post!!

I've not seen their latest film myself just yet, but the previous two were enthralling. They're definitely worth a watch if you pick up a copy or find one online. You won't be disappointed!

Here's a short promo video they had made for their 2nd film. Often they present their spoof solutions to audiences at real industry conferences where people are enthralled and actually cheer at the end.

That would be SO COOL!
Way to go @sykochica! I too have been working on some people. This just reminded me that I need to tap them again. :) Woohoo! I hope you get a response :)

TY! They seemed like they would be a good fit here. And after the NRA had 38,000 websites shut down after their Share the Safety (their site is back up now) it seemed they might have a use to posting somewhere with strong anti-censorship. I'll definitely make an update post if I hear anything back. Maybe we'll just start seeing posts pop up, since they technically wouldn't need to go through me on this.

Love to see the ones you've been working on join up too. :) Either way, seemed worth a shot.

It's definitely worth a shot! I've been targeting my indie artist friends - actors, movie producers, and writers. Many who have not done very well with marketing or broadening their audience, especially when it comes to crowd funding their projects. I can only pull out a bullhorn and be the town crier. I can't make them come aboard though. ::sigh::

Those are great ones to try and bring in! I do understand though, it's up to them...can't force anything. Best we can do it let them know Steemit is here and how it could be beneficial to them. Good old "Can lead a horse to water but can't make it drink" sort of scenario.

The best things don't need forcing anyway :)

Awesome! We need to be personally inviting notable people who'll contribute to the Steem community! Bravo! Following.

Ty! I'll give an update post if I hear anything from them. :)

So, the Yes Men said "Yes, ma'am ?

I've not heard anything back at this point. I just got it sent off last night, but I'll definitely make an update post if i hear anything from them. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76