4.5 Tips On Dealing With Multi-Level Marketing Recruiters

in #marketing7 years ago

mlm-hype.jpg

Most of us have seen it. The person who says they found this awesome opportunity and they be a millionaire by next week and they try to recruit you to an MLM. They give you the promises of all the endless cash you can make as well.

make-money-online-2.png

Don't get me wrong there's some MLM companies out there that are awesome and you can make money, but in almost all of the pitches they'll give you are mostly atypical results. they're those 1-5 people in an organization of 1,000-5,000 direct sellers who have made bank. So how can you sift through the crap and find the gems? By asking some sales questions.

1.) Asking for Average Sales and Conversion Rates

I've thrown off so many MLM recruiters with this one (once got called a "mud-hole" for even asking, whatever that means). Simply put, of all your outreaches to clients, whether cold or referral based, how many will throw down money and buy? 10 out of 100? 13%? See, most only know that one guy who made presidents club and is making $300,000+ a year and drives around in a Rolls Royce Phantom. Is that everyone? That brings me to my next tip.

2.) Asking How Much They Made Last Year

If they avoid this question, and trust me most do, then you might be dealing with a charlatan or someone who not all that great at what they do. Worse if they tell you they're brand new. I have nothing against newbies in MLM, we all have to start somewhere in all aspects of life, but don't tell me how rich I can be if you haven't even vetted it for yourself in a long enough time frame. To me this yells "I'm recouping my upfront cost by recruiting you" no, I don't go for that, and you shouldn't either. What's the better way?

3.) Ask About the Product

A different approach to this issue could be to rely on the merits of the product itself. If you sell cosmetics, don't tell me how rich I can be, tell me how happy women and men (hey I don't judge) are when they use the products. Or better yet open with the issue you're hoping to solve with the products. Herbalife seems very good at this from the people I've talked to. Motor Car Club of America (MCA) is god awful at this from the people I've talked to. If you're selling fire extinguishers, open with the fire.

4.) Ask for Company Information

Examples of this could be "how long has the company been around?" "Do you sell your own products or someone else's?" or better yet "What's the name of the parent company?" that last one is magical. In their opening pitch most won't open with the company name or even tell you what the name is (talk about a lack of transparency). Some times you're dealing with a subsidiary company. Let them provide you with the name of the company and what information they have to share about it and corroborate it for yourself. If you see a website that looks like it was thrown together in 5 minutes, then you're dealing with either a subsidiary or a scam artist. Again there's no problem building a down-line this way, but buyer beware to those who face resistance when asking these basic questions.

Bonus (Tip 4.5):

Some of these recruiters are not even human!

Terminator-2-1200x873.jpg

No not like that. When they try to recruit online, some are bots that will send out an automatic templates. They look personalized on the onset but lack a personal touch. They try to mimic this by using your first name up top. I include my middle initial in my first name. Not only does it look more elegant (In my humble opinion) it will act as a bot detector for you. I can't tell you how many times I've gotten a message calling me by my first name and middle initial. Those I delete without a second thought. This also applies to non-mlm company recruiters as well. I'll leave out names but this person sent me a template message and I used tip 1 to ask about the conversion rates of spam inmails. Let's just say this person was none too happy I called them out on their lazy recruitment antics.

So that's it, 4.5 tips to protect yourself against less than authentic and amateur MLM schemes who wish to part you with your money to give to people above them. I want to hear from you, what crazy messages have you've gotten from MLM's? Did they promise you a million dollars? how about 5 new cars? Leave it in the comments below. Resteem this article if you found it helpful.

U5drijcxtaDpzx6RR4BQuPk44fnxkXP.gif
This was adapted from one of my social media posts on another network and now I'm posting it to steemit. The pictures belong to their respective owners however, I wrote the article and claim the copyrights

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82