You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crowdsourcing the Future w/Marketing Plan Announcement

in #marketing7 years ago

How is Steemit going to deal with users like me who are still logged in but cant remember their passwords? I moved my money into Steem and powered it up and now its lost forever? This issue needs to be corrected or it will drive users away.

Sort:  

First advice: don't clear your browser cookies.
2nd advice: maybe try to do a password recovery through the Stolen Accounts Recovery (sandwich menu top right on any steemit.com page). Be sure to try that in another browser not the one you're using to post on steemit as that might log you out. ALso, this would work if you ever changed your password.
3 Not sure how you signed up, but maybe there can be a way Steemit Inc . can implement to recover passwords via the phone number provided? Not sure about this.

PS> If @jmc is the account in discussion here, I understand you are upset about losing immediate access to your steem, but looking at your account, it's only about 140 steem which is quite low in terms of value. I can send you 50 steem if you create another account to sort this out short term.

Hi Andu,

I really appreciate the reply and the kind gesture.

I don't want another account. I want to fix this flaw. I can code. If steemit cant fix this flaw then how do I get steemit to let me fix it for them? Do you know how I can make that happen?

Thanks!

If you can code head over to their github and propose the change.

All in all, I'm not sure how this can be sorted, I don't know if a password recovery system can be implemented other than the current system.

Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. This brings another point Steemit needs to address. Steemit makes it to hard for me to contribute software development in a way that benefits me, which would mutually serve the community. Right now steemit is failing to motivate this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69