You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yes, marketers sell us shit we don't need. Deal with it.

in #marketing8 years ago

As a "marketer" myself, I've always had a lot of limiting beliefs when it comes to the ethics of selling. Sure, a lot of marketing is hogwash -- however, what's come to help me is reframing marketing into a way of true service. If you have a genuinely good product or service, marketing is just a tool to HELP people. Sure, there is an exchange of money there, but it helps everyone in the end.

Sort:  

Not only that, but many times people don't know what they want until you tell them about it. I used to sell debt collection services, and now in my spare time I sell my books, two very different products, but you sell them in fundamentally the same way. Someone has a desire that is not being fulfilled, sometimes they can't even put their finger on what that desire is, but when you explain what it is you have to offer, you see their eyes light up as they think, "Yes, that can help satisfy me." No trickery or browbeating required.

Or they shrug their shoulders and walk away, because it doesn't satisfy their desires. If only marketing was as powerful as these leftists claim! I'd be relaxing on a tropical beach now instead of sitting in my office, typing comments on Steemit!

Agree, that's the way to look at it. Either your product genuinely helps people today, or get to work improving it so it does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42