Market Friday - Pickles Heaven of Penang

in #marketfriday5 years ago

P_20191029_152443_HDR.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! This is my entry to this week's #marketfriday tag which was initiated by @dswigle. I went to a pickle store recently and I was amazed by the wide varieties of pickles offered. It is a pickle heaven for the people who love pickles. If you are not familiar with pickles, they are generally fruits or vegetables that are preserved using salt or vinegar. In my country, they are commonly referred to as 'jeruk' which is the local language rather than pickles.

P_20191029_152550_HDR.jpg

The name of the pickle store I went to is Aik Lee. It is located in the Pasar Chowrasta (Chowrasta Market), Penang, Malaysia.

20150101_010203A.jpg

This is an overall view of the store from the outside. The sell pickles along with a few other preserved and dry food items.

20150101_010532A.jpg

This is a picture of all the pickles sold. I snapped it using my wide-angled camera because I couldn't get all of them on my phone. There are around 15 types of pickles in the picture above. They were all fruit pickles.

P_20191029_152443_HDR.jpg

The green pickle on the top left is green ambarella pickle (jeruk kedondong). Next to it is yam bean (sengkuang), followed by nutmeg fruit and finally eleiodoxa (kelubi). In the second row, the pickles are yellow ambarella, mangga sala (a type of mango), papaya, and yellow mango.

P_20191029_152500_HDR.jpg

Here you can see the prices of the pickles on the front. They are all set at the same price where 1kg of the pickles cost RM 16.00 which is USD 3.91.

P_20191029_152535_HDR.jpg

The red pickles are cherries. The shopkeeper will weigh the pickles of your choice and charge you accordingly.

P_20191029_152601_HDR.jpg

This is the left corner section of the store. Some of the items sold here were packaged food items, flavourings like curry pastes and cookies. He even had the Musang King cookies which is a famous durian fruit variety.

P_20191029_152613_HDR.jpg

This is the right section of the store which is right above the pickles. These are different types of coffees, herbal drinks and some ingredients to make beverages such as cincau.

bitmoji-20190417075654.png

My family and I just bought some pickles for us to eat and some for our friends. I hope that you enjoyed reading my #marketfriday post. Thank you for reading and have a great day ahead!

Sort:  

Wow wonderful photos. Bright vibrant colors.

And the pickles look...interesting to try. How fun.

Some delicious meal

Yes!! This was fabulous! I had no idea there were so many pickles! The variety is amazing and pickled cherries? New to me! But, I must say that I love pickles of any kind, so this was really interesting to me.

I wish I had a store like that here! What a fun task to select them! Which ones did you select?? I want to thank you for being part of the challenge and all the work involved to put a post together for it.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @yashny! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Food For Thought Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68