Market Friday - Feast of San Gennaro, Little Italy, New York

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

San Gennaro is the Patron Saint of Naples in Italy. For 11 days Little Italy in NY City celebrates the Feast of San Gennaro (Sept 12-22). Awesome food, live music, cannoli, zeppole and meat-balls eating competitions.

Let me take you to Mulberry street and show you around! Let’s go!

07FD913C-D9A9-4999-B11F-A430F524C35B.jpeg

13DB67EA-9A87-4C76-BC6B-6E5931FA9E7D.jpeg

It is evening time, the air is thick with the smell of smoked sausages and fried dough. Every year more than one million people come to party here, food in hand. 😊 No exception this year. Thousands of people are walking the strip this evening. It is really packed.

86749E0A-2B6B-473A-A7F5-30C44C9909C6.jpeg

Honestly, I didn’t expect this. I got a little claustrophobic in the crowd, we could hardly move. I almost got a panic attack. 🙃😣

4B82427A-DB13-4872-B2B5-0823923BA21F.jpeg

The big question here is what to eat and where to buy from? Which is the best vendor?

I will let you choose... everything looks sooo good and everybody eats here!!! This chef with hundreds of chains on him is so funny and entertaining 😊 Italian sausage sandwich 😋 I want that!

92595E02-BC55-4D86-A82E-54066AB3DB54.jpeg

Pork chicharrones and plantains ...I’m gonna make you really hungry 😋 with this post... sorry....

D37EFC61-FCA2-4218-969F-BFFD10E05BC1.jpeg

Shish Kabab and veggies....

333B13E5-0CA1-4431-B08C-A96B32004724.jpeg

Oh... I can’t resist this food stand ...

2C06124D-3F9B-4D97-BA81-3E82EDAF6542.jpeg

Got a sandwich... $10 😋

7D2696AA-556D-446F-9BD1-EDE0F4239A61.jpeg

Wow... check this guy! Whole pig 🐷

727B4BA0-08B7-4BAC-8DA3-BE2F8C4CDF8C.jpeg

Pizza pizza... can’t miss this. The line is out of this world... long...

4FBA6372-DB90-4B0D-811E-6E5408D4C2DC.jpeg

Desert time ... cannoli anyone?

F77E2635-2F97-4DD5-8AC1-09383792871F.jpeg

Check this vendor’s face. ‘Are you gonna buy something or what? Who’s next?’

Bought a bunch. Chocolate, Pistachio, Almonds, Mocha. 😋

87629CB7-932E-490F-BE42-4EDE8D1AC268.jpeg

This man is making cigars by hand. Cool. Stopped a little to watch him.

1EA7CEA8-353F-4AAD-9481-5851BE3AA8ED.jpeg

There are some games here too, but everybody is too busy eating 😂

267B484D-86F5-43B2-8A96-13A6300E89DD.jpeg

Anyways... we are too full to play... too full to walk any more, so we’re signing off here and going to the car.

Hope you enjoyed the Feast of San Gennaro with me and my two most favorite people on Earth: my daughter and her fiancé. 🥰

Note - This post is my contribution to #marketfriday challenge hosted by the lovely @dswigle.

3B39FD40-7BE3-426D-A616-8D157D55E807.jpeg

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Sort:  

I loved your post!!!! I wanted to be there with you!!! Oh, you gutsy woman! When I am a shoulder to shoulder with the crowd in NYC, I usually carry a purse that at least zips! :) That comes from years of working there, but, you also lived there too. So, you have more cajones than I do.

Oh, my!!! My mother made pepper and onions along with sausages every single weekend. Period. Never a doubt about it. And yes!! Yummy delicious, right? The best thing about these Italian Feasts is that there is always amazing food! Right?

You just can't help yourself. I usually eat my weight in food. I swear! There is nothing like them and NYC (or Connecticut to be fair) but, the crowds are triple in New York. Connecticut just has more feasts. I swear they have started making them up.

You outdid yourself and now I want to eat this post. Oh, wait!!! I forgot the cannoli!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip.20

Thank you 😊 I am not very gutsy 😂 but I was feeling brave because I wasn’t alone. I get anxious in the crowds lately. I guess it is a part of getting older. I used to work in NYC for and commute, but that was 10 years ago.

And yes, I am a foodie too. I don’t eat huge quantities, but I like to taste everything. At this Feast I started with a pistachio cannoli that I swallowed it right away! Then I had a few bites of a sausage and pepper sandwich, and other stuff 😂 that I shared with my daughter.

I’ve never been to Connecticut. I must plan a trip, it is not far from us, maybe a holiday weekend. When is a good time to visit? Looking for food fest too.

Thanks again @dswigle Denise, I am Liana. 🥰

Well, as I live in Washington, DC now, I don't know about all the little festivals, but one of the big ones (The Seafood Festival in the Norwalk Harbor) is a big one with yummy eats! was on Labor Day. I never missed that one, but, over the years has gotten a little commercial. I love the Church Festivals that celebrate the Feasts!

Here I pulled off a list of some as they get more and more every year! Look here

My favorite involve Italian or seafood. :) Of course, the food truck one in NYC is so awesome, the one in Connecticut cannot compete! Well, if you get antsy in crowds, I will have to say that you did really well then, New York in the dark can be daunting. Some days. I was never worried when I worked there, but, I am older and smarter than I was then!

Thanks, Liana!!! I hope you have a fabulous Sunday! I am going to ask my sister what good ones she has heard of lately!

Mwah!

Awesome, thank you so much1!

What a cool market Friday Post I went to the festival a few times a few years ago its amazing but gets so crowded

Very crowded, more and more every year. Day and night! Even weekdays is crowded.

I guess its great for the organizers, but i do hate crowds myself LOL

Looks a really delicious feast! I got really hungry reading your post ;-) It's wonderful to discover cultures through celebrations like San Gennaro :-) Thanks for your post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you 😊 I love going to these kind of cultural events, especially when food is involved. 🥰

Certainly looks like a grand festival here my friend. I have never been to one, but it looks like you enjoyed it and that's all that counts.
Blessings!

I enjoyed it and I love everything connected to food and other cultures! Stay tuned, many food festivals are coming up, now is the season. I will be very happy to take you along, even on a virtual tour! 🥰

Will do my friend. We went to a Heritage Day festival today as they had a big display of old cars and I love old cars from the early years.
Blessings!

That's at least one interesting market! Even though I try to stay away from crowded places, this one definitely caught my attention and would like starring at all those shops! :D

Hmmm starring ... not possible... you must keep moving and eating... can not resist... everyone has food in his hands 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74