⭐️MARKET FRIDAY - THE MILNERTON MARKET - A FANTASTICALLY WEIRD PLACE ⭐️

MARKET FRIDAY WORKING Cover copy.jpg

YAY! It's Friday! Which can only mean one thing! #marketfriday hosted by the effervescent @dswigle 💜She is one of the most precious souls here on the blockchain, who puts so much effort into her posts, and is wonderfully active. #marketfriday is a wonderful way to see the world via Steemit. Check out the tag for more info

Last weekend I went to one of my favourite fleamarkets here in Cape Town - The Milnerton Market. Now, Milnerton is know as one of the more, shall we say, interesting parts of Cape Town. The people that live there are a mix of older, working class people, descendents of a lot of Portuguese fishing families and other African countries immigrants. It is definitely a great example of our Rainbow Nation.

My uncle has a great term for people who live there - radioactive 🤪, since they are close to a power plant... and are not all okay in the head. Some very strange people live there.

Hence, The Milnerton Market is a fantastically bizarre place to go. There are some traders, whose entire stall's contents cannot, in a million years, even cover the cost of the stand they are trading from. I think they are really there for the community and people.

I go often, as I too, like to enjoy the community, and chat with the traders. You never know what you will find! Books, fantastic books, smoked fish, old cameras, vintage clothes, junk that you cannot fathom a use for, it is all there

Here are some photos I took while meandering the market

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-10 at 13.34.19.jpeg

A collection of fabulously pink dolls. I almost bought the My Little Pony's out of pure nostalgia

IMG_5676.jpg

Taps galore. My uncle, who is a total DIY master, often trawls the market for bits and bobs he may need

IMG_5692.jpg

Some heavy titles in the mix, at an absurdly cheap price

IMG_5696.jpg

I could not resist The Hardy Boys. I also purchased some Mallory Towers, by Enid Blyton. Nostalgia is a powerful marketing tool.

If you are ever in Cape Town, you HAVE to visit the market. And give me a call while you are here!

footer.png

Sort:  

I love going to markets, old antique shops, car boots, charity shops etc.

This picture with all the plastic toys makes me realize that we can go and see the everyday things of 100 years ago and find them beautiful, but that we in our plastic fantastic lives are not leaving very good antiques for future generations, sad really.

Some good books there. And I love house fixtures too! I will be doing over our boat house this spring to make a little cottage out of it and I will be happy to hunt for odds and ends to decorate and do it over. I'm going to have to schedule a few months for that this Spring.

Keep sharing your fun antique and market adventures, I can live vicariously now through it as I've not the time at present.

AH, what a good point you make about the plastic. It's a bit sad really... I wonder how many of our furniture pieces will still have made it to 3019? As everything is mass produced now adays :(

Ooh, i look forward to hearing about the house boat, I'd love to stay in one, always wanted to!

Glad you enjoy the posts - I enjoy preparing them too!

Looks like such an interesting and unusal Market and just the kind of place I would love visiting

it is such a gem! one of the weirder places in cape town

Maybe its because i am a bit weird but I do love weird and eccentric markets :)

I think I would totally get suckered in with some of the old books, as well! It's probably a good thing I don't go to markets like this too often or nostalgia would definitely get the best of my wallet. It's hard enough not buying ALL of the vegetables every week at the farmers market...😜

hahaha! I know the feeling. I always buy way too many vegetables, but it's good as it forces me to think of different or unusual recipes to make!

How beautiful i love going back in time things were done in class especially them old books the covers are just superb in design you can't beat old school :)

yeah you are so right, I love the book covers too!

Yep they are certainly masterpieces better looking then CD,s or Memory sticks....lol :)

Have a great week @princessmewmew :)

I love this place! Look at the expected mix of fun there! Radioactive people? I imagine that should be fun! I like going into the interesting parts of town. They always have a mix of cool things that you don't find anywhere else. Not sure how they pay for their stalls with some of the merchandise that they have, however I have seen people come day after day or week after week and I wonder how they do it? I looked at the first set of pictures with Barbie and My Little Pony all sorts of cool little toys! A throwback from childhood although I would tell you that they still sell them today. Oh that made me laugh when you said you almost bought My Little Pony out of pure nostalgia. Maybe I should line mine all up and take a picture of them. I do like the books although I have stopped buying so many. I have run out of room and I refuse to have boxes of them. I even have a library! I have The Hardy Boys also and The Bobbsey Twins and Nancy Drew. Nostalgia has beaten me too many times. You have did yourself this time with the things that you bought.

As usual, I really want to thank you for being a part of Market Friday and I know that you plan these ahead and they are posted automatically so I won't ask you to drop the link, knowing that. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put a post together.

Upped and steemed

!tip 0.2

it is super crazy! i always have such fun when i go there.

You have a My Little Pony collection? Oh my word! I wonder what my mom did with mine. ...

My books are in boxes too 😔and I have actually given a alot away, and only kept the special ones.

Market Friday is my favorite post in my week, and I am always on the look out for interesting place to document! xx

I love that you love it!!!! I have only kept the really special books. The First readers that we learned to read on. If a Moose ate a Muffin. Ferdinand the Bull.

I love your posts and the energy that you bring with you! It is so refreshing and it is infectious!

Thank you!!! Always!

!tip

🎁 Hi @princessmewmew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Goes To The Moon Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @princessmewmew! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I could not resist books either, unless they are pricy. The problem is I have so many already and space is limited. Sorry for the late comment. i hope I can see your #MarketFriday blog today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77