🍣 MARKET FRIDAY - SUSHI TIME 🍣

MARKET FRIDAY Cover.jpg

This is my entry to #marketfriday hosted by the effervescent @dswigle

YAY, it's FriYAY!!! Not that means anything to me as I work on Saturdays, but still, it's fun times, pizza night and half days for me at work.

If it's a nice Friyay, and not too busy at work, I am able to knock off at 2pm. I have a few little rituals I like to take part in, one being a visit to the beautiful Green Market Square, one of the oldest common areas in Cape Town. Green Market Square was built in 1696, and has a long and colourful history, which I will soon do a post on. Anyway, I digress (what's new?!). I love to go down to the market and get a coffee, stroll around and check out the vintage clothes, second hand books and then visit The Food Lover's Market, which is a giant fruit and veggie store that has a sushi conveyor belt.


Green Market Square - Source

The store is set right on Green Market, so you are able to gaze out the window if you like, and watch the busy cobblestone streets.

IMG_7462.GIF

While the sushi snob within me is apprehensive of conveyor belt sushi, it's pretty good, and from 3- 6pm every day, they have a half price special, which makes for a pretty cheap lunch!

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-16 at 19.06.24.jpeg

You can even order off the a la carte menu, which I do every time, as it means the sushi will be freshly made for you.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-16 at 19.05.44.jpeg

I ordered my absolute favourite, a Bamboo Roll (the roll at the back), which is salmon and prawn rolled in cucumber, with no rice. I love the fresh taste of the cucumber, and it's nice without the rice as it is not as filling.

I also ordered (on the right) another favourite, the Inari, which is traditionally a sweet tofu pouch filled with a rice ball. Their version has a spicy chopped prawn and japanese mayo topping, which I LURVE.

Then, I also got an avocado maki. It's my go to. I always get it. 🍣

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-16 at 19.05.21.jpeg

So, that was my Friyay afternoon. I'd like to encourage you to take part in @dswigle's #marketfriday challenge, it's super fun, just like a trip around the world, except you're viewing the markets from the comfort of your home.

footer.png

Sort:  

Oh, my! My!!

You really do know how to live right!! Working half a day AND getting to go to the Green Market Square! Vintage clothes! Oh, yes! I was raiding relatives closets as they had some pretty interesting fashion statements just hanging out from their yesteryear.

Hello??

Putting outfits together from their castoffs was fun and turned me loose on the vintage shops or even sometimes the second-hand shops that have some vintage, although not purposely. ;)

This was an awesome #MarketFriday, just like all of yours are, so I want to thank you for taking the time and effort to post into the challenge!

Mwah! Thank you, my lovely!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

yeah, my Fridays are pretty sweet!

thanks so much for all your love and support, iit's awesome!

XOXO It is always a pleasure!

mmmm... sushi... It's good, but only as a SIDE DISH for RAMEN! Ramen for ever!

... but it is hard to find good Japanese food in Europe, I am hoping to be able to get to Dusseldorf, where there is a large population of Japanese, where there is some of the best Japanese food on this continent!

OOOH! I JUST LOVE RAMEN! Here we have some really good ramen. Actually I drove past my favourite ramen place yesterday and had such a craving for it! MMM let me know what the food is like there!

I just visited one in Belgium... Pretty decent, impressive also considering the owners aren't Japanese. With a nice cocktail selection too!

This sushi time is an eye candy. Katsudon is my favorite when it comes to Japanese food, but the selection you have there makes me wanna go out and have sushi right now.

Mmm! I also love Japanese food. I actually just found these guys on Youtube called Tabi Eats, and they do all kinds of traditional Japanese food. They visited some amazing Ramen places in one of the more recent vids, and I just loved it

Oh I'd better have a look at their channel. Have not tasted a lot of Ramen but sounds like I could get a lot tips from their channel what to look for in the flavor. Maybe I could also hunt out the best Ramen house in our area.

Yum, sushi! Makes me want some something fierce. Sounds like you had a fun afternoon getting some sushi though :D

yeah! it's my special me time.

I have never been a fan of Sushi but my Stepson Loves it and would love that place even with the conveyor belt

mmm I think it's one of those food items that once you try it, you're hooked, especially if it's the good stuff! LOL Sounds like I am talking about drugs hehhehe

LOL I have tried it a couple of times and it just wasnt for me

I love Japanese food. Here in Sao Paulo State in Brazil, we have many kinds of Japanese food, for the most traditional to more Brazilian, with mango, cream cheese and that kind of stuffs.

mm that sounds amazing! so interesting that you have a lot of Japanese food in Brasil, who woulda thunk?!

haha! The Sao Paulo State received a lot of Japanese immigrants from 1900s until after the WWII . We have an neighborhood called "Liberdade", translated as Freedom, in Sao Paulo City which is the world's largest Japanese colony outside Japan. So that is why we have a lot of Japanese culture here in Brazil.
Cheers!

oh, I did not know that! how interesting x

Yummy those sushi looks soooo delicious one of the first things that i want to eat once i gave birth are salmon sushi i miss them soooo much:)

oh dear! when is your due date?

20th January:)

I love sushi!!
I live in Ballito KZN, South Africa and with all the half price sushi Tues and 2 for 1 on Thurs, Im yet to find the most unforgettable sushi experience.

hi girl! I'm in Cape Town! <3 we have some amazing places here. You look brand new to steemit? let me know if you need some help

Looks good! All of it!

There is a Sushi place here in Yuma, but I just never go. It's a PIA for me to get to and Mexican gets me every time. What can I say?

Thanks for a really tasty looking lunch.

I think that in a place like Yuma, I would also choose Mexican!

🎁 Hi @princessmewmew! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77