Market Friday With a Busy.org Newbie Plus a RANT!

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

PIC_0207.JPG

First Time Using Busy!

Well at the moment Steemit is down. I have not missed a Market Friday ever since I met the lovely @dswigle and even with Steemit down, I don't intend to miss it now LOL.


Welcome to Market Friday!

In my quest to lose weight, I have been trying to forgo the carbs. It is really hard to give up my favorites like bread, pasta, rice, crackers and beans. Yet it seems to be paying off. I can lose a couple of pounds per week, depending on how strict I want to be. I have learned not all sausage is created equally. You really have to watch the labels for carbs, sugar, fat and protein!



We Interrupt this Market Friday

for a bit of a

RANT!

It is pretty cool having an alternative way to access the Steem blockchain. However, as nice as that is, I really, REALLY wish we did not have all these constant problems. I think Steem Inc is so focused on Smart Tokens that they have totally turned their back on the site. Just as fast as we can recruit people to try the site, more people are leaving out the back door because of the issues. Now no place is going to be 100% perfect. However, there is the onboarding wait for days for many. Some never hear back and are left in a state of limbo. Then once you finally get approved, then you are hit with the bandwidth issues! Its almost getting to the point of why even bother recruiting?!?

The market value of Facebook is over 500 billion dollars!!! Let that number sink in and digest a bit.... That is over a half of a TRILLION dollars! May the people over at Steemit Inc. see the true potential for the site if it had just basic usability!


My Beard Disaster Was the Main Reason for My Shopping Trip.

Oh kinda weird, Busy must only properly frame and format landscapes, and not portrait sized pics?!? Well that puts a damper on that lol.

I actually bought two bouquets of flowers. One reason is they look nice, but the real reason is my daughter is into pressing flowers!!

20180222_215202.jpg



So this concludes our trial run with busy.org. It seems to work well with a few minor glitches...

Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png

Sort:  

Thank you for the pimping. Yes! It is #MarketFriday yet again! I cannot believe how quick it comes up!

Rant on. You know I will listen when I get home from vacation I'd like to do it now, but, honestly, I have to get on these replies before people don't believe I still love them!

How does the beard look today? I needed an update of some kind. Truly. Are you feeling a little blonde today?

Well, as usual, you really put out a special post for my day and it is always appreciated. I won't go into your rant and how right you are on some of those points. :)

Just know I listen once in a while.

Upped and Steemed Tip!

You know I love pimpin your page!

Oh you dont need to hear me rant again, you have heard me say it all 100 times before lol. Just kind of makes me feel better.

Oh maybe if you twist my arm, I suppose i could do a follow up post with a beard update and some flowers coz Im working on some of them.

Well its a bit dark! LOL I had to go overboard to get it to take because it was full of the yellow dye already!

Well just know it wasnt the post I wanted to do...the site was impossible, and that takes the fun out of it.

Well, sometimes it gets like that. Usually on #MarketFriday. Swear to God.

Here, have a flower....hmm where have I heard that before???

P1140729.JPG

Here, have a flower. It does sound familiar!

You do know that is the one on my most FAV poem!!

It will be good in next days...

@old-guy-photos,

Paul, bravo to your daughter for being seen in public with her Dad looking like "Dog, The Bounty Hunter." [See my comment on, "They Call Me YellowBeard. :-) ]

Bravo to you for the Rant.

In theory, theory and reality are the same. In reality, they're not. This applies to almost everything in life. It's an axiom on steroids when applied to Steemit. NOTHING ... works the way it's advertised.

The on-boarding issue is ridiculous. I waited 15 days before throwing in the towel and paying $45 to SteemCreate for an account (2 minutes). Once active, I would habitually be bandwidth frozen for 7-8 hours every morning. Why? For engaging in the precise behavior encouraged by Steemit for newbies ... creating great content and spending hours commenting and replying. Old-guy-photos rode to the rescue and delegated me 50 SP (which I am still using) to solve the problem.

We're in Beta ... patience.

You can only hide behind platitudes for so long.

Blockchains are open source. All the code is there for the world to see ... and that's why there are well over 1,000 cryptocurrencies. Copy-Paste ... a new crypto. How long will it be before someone says, "Enough ... we'll create a Revamped Steemit by a different name?" Frankly, I'm surprised it hasn't happened already.

As bad as all this is, it pales by comparison to the reality that Steemit is failing miserably at it's Central Premise: That Content Will Be Compensated Commiserate With It's Quality.

Nice theory. The reality is that content is compensated on the basis of one's financial ability to jury-rig the upvoting system ... either directly, through massive use of voting-bots; or, indirectly, by joining voting rings. Abstaining from such behavior, perhaps based upon a sense of honor, guarantees failure. Shakespeare himself could not succeed on Steemit without "playing the game."

Any organization that fails at its Central Premise ... fails.

Take a look around the table. If you can't spot the sucker, it's you.

I hear you. Maybe Dan will get it right with social media and EOS?

That is very nice of you @old-guy-photos giving flowers to your daughter :)
By the way what kind of camera are you using?
I actually like to take a photo whenever i go out or just stay at my house.

The pics in the store are from my LG g5. My main camera is a Panasonic G7.

Cool! @old-guy-photos I have been doing photography since i started on steemit! It's like my passion. Try checking my photography if you have time your comments will be a great guide to me.

Love those highlights sir :-) Like a superhero alter-ego kind of thing ;-)

I remember with Vidme, it was something like that (obviously without the blockchain and bitcoins) where they had issues that went unaddressed for a long time; in fact they were never resolved even up to the day it was closed down. With so much competition out there it pays not to make things too difficult as users may swim off elsewhere.

But hopefully these issues will be resolved :-)

Well we have always had problems here. Just helps on to vent once in a while lol.

Absolutely so :-)

I agree with you; Steemit deserves more from its developers! :)

Thanks Maya. Upped.

Well, that was a Market Friday with a difference! Not quite sure what the theme was but it sure was entertaining.......as usual @old-guy-photos Btw.....you haven’t been getting too close to the flowers with your macro shots have you? That beard looks suspiciously like pollen to me. 😄

Yep a yellow beard is the downside to flower/macro photography LOL Upped.

Thank you kindly @old-guy-photos Sending more pollen your way. 🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼

I went on a low carb diet a few years ago. It's amazing to see how many carbs are in some foods. My husband's favorite steak seasoning is Montreal Steak Seasoning but we didn't care much for the Montreal sausages. Our brand of choice is usually Johsonville cheddar brats. Glad to see your diet is going well. I'm trying to start one and I'm dreading it.

Hubby has good taste! Thats my fav so I thought I might try these... Oh well I thought it might not move over to pork as easy. Upped.

Agree, this almost constant instability it's really turning off people, specially the new comers.
Great sunset, btw!

Steemit has always had issues. There was a time when the price of Steem was less than ten cents and this place was a near ghost town and there was little to no communication from the leaders. Nothing new.

I was here then! And when the rewards pool was dry for a month after the HF! Yep still broken! Upped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65