Market Friday goes Blue Apron

in #marketfriday6 years ago

IMG_5241.jpg

Market Friday

Today, I want to introduce you to the wonders and joys of Blue Apron. If you are a podcast listener, you probably know about Blue Apron and all the other Meals to Cook delivery services that have started in the last few years.

If you don't know what it is - you can choose different recipes for the delivery and you get a box with all the ingredients needed to make the meal. Everything is premeasured and packaged separately.

IMG_5242.jpg

You see that with each step, you get instruction on what to do and what to expect from your box. The Recipe cards are on top.

IMG_5255.jpg

They have step by step instruction so even someone that has never cooked anything can do this.

IMG_5245.jpg

This is what I found under the recipe cards. An insulation pack of sorts. It was taped closed.

IMG_5246.jpg

The veggies, bread and some other ingredients were on top of this cardboard.

IMG_5247.jpg

Under it, I found this solid block of ice in a sealed plastic pouch.

IMG_5248.jpg

It went right into the freezer for future use. Under it, on another block of ice, were the different meats.

IMG_5249.jpg

We cooked the Burgers that same night. They were good, but not the greatest meal I have ever eaten. And the portions were rather small.

This box was gifted to me by my good friend Ginger Wiseman, the co-host and producer of the Outlander podcast. As a gift, I highly appreciate the meals, but if I would have to pay for them, I don't think it is for me. The box with 2 meals for 2 people costs about $50 delivered to your door.

It took a bit of time to put the meal together, but there was no shopping time involved. Also, there is no waste since all the ingredients are portioned out. There is the packaging of course. And it is a lot of packaging. Most, if not all, can be recycled. Still, it is way more waste than I want to produce.

I learned to cook when I was a small child and food shopping is actually one kind of shopping I like to do. Then, there is the fact that I grow a lot of food in my own garden. So, for me, this kind of meal delivery/cook at home service is not a match made in heaven.

However, there are many people who have no idea how to cook. I think for them, it would be a great way to learn to cook and to try many recipes without having to buy all the spices and other ingredients in larger amounts. They might never use a particular spice or other ingredients again and that would be a waste of money and product.

#marketfriday is the brainchild of @dswigle - the sweet Miss Denise. You too can participate by taking pictures when you are out shopping and then, write a post about it. Make sure to mention @dswigle and to use the tag #marketfriday

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

@mariannewest hahaha yeahh convenience in packaging and delivering does come at a price.

I think it works for super busy people. For me, I actually prefer to do the shopping myself. I think the grocery shopping experience, if not rushed, is quite cathartic :D

Grocery shopping is one kind of shopping I also enjoy. I decided that this is great for people who do not know how to cook and want to learn.

I have this type of thing as a recommendation for rich weight loss clients. I actually worked with two of them and they loved getting expensive healthy food in the mail. One was not happy with all the packaging and the other could not have cared less.

Teaching obese people how to cook for themselves is a big struggle. Even doing this a few times a month can help. But it sure takes money.

I'm working at @khimgoh's office overnight and so can make a few comments. This no wifi thing is killing me!

I am so sorry that you have wifi problems. No Starbucks with free wifi in Malaysia HMMMM.

I think for people struggling with weight it would be ideal - no shopping = no impulse buys and the portions are not hugs bu we ended up being full. Maybe better with an added salad...

We actually do have places with free wifi, but it's a matter of getting to them with my heavy laptop, the heat, and arthritis and all that. Most places would not have AC or good places to sit. A few times of this and I am out for the count for a few days or longer.

Most people here use cell phones. They almost skipped over computers in this part of the world, and a lot of people do not know how to use them at all. Just like I am bad on a phone.

Yes, I thought those meals - cooked and uncooked were a bit small. This would make people trying to lose weight add treats - not salad lol.

hahaha - on the last part.

Yes, I had heard before that many people do everything on the phone. it seems very cumbersome to me - but whatever works. Maybe with time you can pick up a phone and do a lot more with voice instead of typing everything. That might work...

That's an idea. I have tried voice recognition before and could not train the program to pick up my words. Apparently I have an odd voice. And I used one for a few days at the beginning of the month - between my bad eyes and bad hands I was a mess! I spent forever to get posts out, but I hope that would get better over time.

Right now I just want wifi like God intended - sniffle!

I was also gifted Blue Apron!!! While it was a wonderful gift, I have to agree with you that it was not my best meal, nor was it the worst but probably more money than i would have paid!

I guess if you don't cook, or you don't have time to shop, it would be great. And I have to admit, I was more than a little curious about it, so I was glad for the experience and glad you blogged about it. :)

Thank you so much for the awesome post so many of us have wondered about. You just took the curiosity out of Blue Apron.

I hope you have a most wonderful and know that I appreciate you joining the #MarketFriday Challenge with you busy schedule! XOXO

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @mariannewest! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It is certainly very convenient if you do not have time to shop. it can be seen that in that company they take packaging and transportation of products very seriously. My mother once ordered groceries from the store. except for her list, they put her and what she did not order :)))) of course for a fee not as a gift.

Oh no!! That is not a good experience. These kind of boxes are becoming more and more popular in the US. I really don't like all the packaging. but I think it is a great way for people to learn how to cook. And if the same people go and get takeout food instead of the box, they use even more packaging. So, it all depends on your lifestyle.

Israel is the same: people do not cook much food at home from the products. go to restaurants more often or order ready-made meals at home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54