Market Friday! The search for the perfect coffee, or how I beat the flu...

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

Oh, my goodness, I was sick for ten days but you never heard me complaining... Nope, you ladies will agree with me here: men don't complain when they're sick, and they certainly never whine. The look of sheer joy on my wife's face when I finally left the house today, well... that was completely unrelated I'm sure. In any case, I had to go. It's #MarketFriday created by @dswigle, and I am on a quest.

DSC_5519-Edit.jpg

So the first thing I did was drive downtown and park the Coupe de Ville in my usual spot outside Cleopatra's... it's possible I'm still hallucinating just a bit you understand. I'm not really sure how much of this is true. Nevertheless... I am on a quest to find the lost and semi-mythical perfect cup of coffee for Market Friday!

DSCF8655.jpg

Off I go on foot down the oddly dry cobblestones. It stopped raining for a few minutes and it's kinda freaking me out. My camera is set on manual because that's how I tell people I roll... I have forgotten to look at the settings because that's how I actually roll.

DSCF8670.jpg

We're going to hit every coffee joint in this town from corporate to hipster... from Coffee Art to Fatburger. Whatever it takes... If I can just remember the name of the legendary lost blend... Someone will know I feel certain!

DSCF8671.jpg

It's tough getting around there is so much construction work going on. Not just sidewalks and roads but large buildings on every corner.

DSCF8656.jpg

Here we go, let's pick up the pace. Murchie's with the live tulips on the roof... they have no idea what I'm talking about. They try to sell me an Americano...

DSCF8662.jpg

Starbucks Blonde Breaks Rules... it's not even true, you gotta read the fine print!

DSCF8666.jpg

DSCF8667.jpg

DSCF8674-Edit-Edit.jpg

Rise & Grind, Wild Coffee & Bistro, Crust Bakery... What? Nothing? They all tell me about their fair-trade-super-organic-hipster-primo-dark roast blends, but the names don't ring true, ya know?

DSCF8663.jpg

How 'bout you Honey Bun? Nothing?

DSCF8676.jpg

I give up. I'm heading home on foot & I'll just grab a cup at my usual joint... Closed due to illness!

DSCF8678.jpg

We're down to this: convience store coffee. I'm a block from home when my mind clears and I suddenly remember! (Did I mention the fever and hallucinations?) I remember I left the Caddy down at Cleopatra's... and I remember the name of the magic blend and where I saw it... the Holy Grail of coffee... behold!!!

DSC_3375-Edit.jpg

Once upon a time in the west... deep, deep in the Canadian southwest I should say, just a little north of the Washington border, in a place called Deadwood Junction... (might not be its real name, understand?) I had been driving for 16 hours when I saw it, and it stuck in my mind ever since! "Tarnished Turkey Cappuccino"

You can't make this stuff up. Happy #MarketFriday y'all :)

Sort:  

I don't quiet understand what I just read but I liked it and now have an overpowering desire to drink coffee and go camping. thank you.

Perfect! Thank you :)

A brilliant blog Keith. You tell a riveting yarn. 😀I had to go and make myself a strong home made brew after viewing all those interesting and tempting looking cafes. But I think you made the right choice. The Tarnished ‘Turkey’ Cappuccino sounds too good to pass up. I do have a question though..........Is that coffee ☕️ONLY for Turkeys? 🦃
Taking this with me to show all my friends that you’re not just a great photographer.......you have the gift of the gabble too .........or should I say, gobble? 😁

I never did try that coffee, I mean what the heck could it be?Thank you Trudee... "gift of gobble", you crack me up! :)

Well, you are just going to have to go back and try one Keith. I’m DYING to know what it tastes like.🤪 And I was counting on your good sense of humour when I stretched the boundaries of our friendship. I can breathe a sigh of relief knowing I’m still on your Christmas Card list. 😻

Probably just tastes like chicken, everything does, right?

Wow, you must have been on some crazy caffeine rush by the time you got to the end of this market Friday :)

Oh dude... didn't get much sleep, too jacked up still :)

lolol. I can so imagine :)

It can definitely take a while to find that perfect coffee some days.
A lot the of the times that perfect cups right at home.

Having mine at home right now :)

You had me on your wild goose chase! Great pics along the way! what we do for the perfect cup of coffee. LOL!

Ah, thank you! I was just happy to get outdoors! What I actually did was grab a coffee at the convenience store... it's cheap and good. And it has less than 1% turkey, I think that's a law or something. :)

Hehe! I'm off outside to do some yard work before the urge goes away. It's too nice to be indoors. I also have a small project to shoot, so I should be quite busy!

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

You rule!

I have never been taken on a scavenger hunt for the best of the best coffee! The tour was appreciated.

Let's talk about that coffee being absolutely precise! Just plain old mud or something a tad more fru-fru?

Your tale is told with that Special Keith Boon tongue-in-cheek humor that I am so in love with. I could listen to that banter all day long.

Thank you for taking us on your journey. I'd follow you anywhere! #MarketFriday rules!!

Upped and Resteemed Tip!

You're so sweet... how would you like your coffee? Thanks so much Denise! :)

My pleasure!

Looks like this post was nicely appreciated! I agree with them, its a winner. From the sweet wheels to the quaint bakery and all the coffee shops in between, it was a bunch of fun! Well done, Keith.

Thanks so much! This was a pleasant surprise for sure :)

Hahahahahaa... What a lot of coffee shops! :D
You had a fine start with the car... I was like... 😯 ........
And I can almost smell coffee with all the coffee stops you made... (and still no coffee??) and all the bakery bits... yummmm.... And still you didn't stop! How could you resist all that??? Lol... Have a happy weekend, Keith! (with a good cuppa, I hope...)

I had a little sip in each shop, just a taste. I've been awake for 36 hours now! :) Have a great weekend!

I wonder what this "Tarnished Turkey Cappuccino" is like? It is a wonderful trip to hunt for that perfect cup :-)

OMG, I didn't dare to try it. I notice pumpkins in the shot, it must have been a Halloween thing... I just checked the date. I took this shot on Oct. 26, 2014... so it's basically nightmare coffee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50