Market Friday: Polski Rynek Mięsny (Polish Meat Market) Trip

in #marketfriday7 years ago

My Polski Rynek Mięsny (Polish Meat Market) Trip


222.jpg



The other day I had just settled into my steemit world when my cell phone alerted me to a text message. Sighing I almost ignored the text as it wasn't even 6:30 AM and no one texts me that early; unless... could it be bad news? So I stopped typing and checked. It was a number I didn't recognize. Well, after opening then reading the message, I soon learned my husband had left earlier that morning and forgotten his cell phone here.

REALLY?

Ok, so I told him (he was using a coworker's phone; luckily this guy had my number as my husband never would have gotten ahold of me because his phone was on silence in the other room) I would bring his phone to him after the sun came up and the morning traffic cleared out. Two hours later as I drove the 45-minutes to his work, I thought I would stop at an old favorite store of mine; since I rarely made it this far south anymore and the hour drive to the store just isn't in my cards to do all the time. So now I was kind of excited that he had forgotten his phone.



So MANY wonderful things in this Polish Market and I could spend hours upon hours just roaming up and down the aisles.

Let's get started...


The Walk In Cooler & Meat Department


33.jpg

They have a walk-in freezer which serves as their meat department. Twice a year I will buy bundles of meat from them; which are not only great prices but very good meat from local grass-fed farms


1.jpg

They make their own sauerkraut and pickles

333.jpg

Pig's feet- ahhh, a treat from my childhood... no, not really but I can remember my grandma making pickled pig's feet(marynowane stopy świń) and head cheese (don't ask)


6.jpg

They smoke their fish





Other Items In The Aisles


4.jpg

Pierogies- Need I say more!


11.jpg

Sauces & Condiments


8.jpg

Nuts & Baking Items


7.jpg

Cookies & Treats


88.jpg

Magazines


So there you have it... my trip to the Polish Market. And thank you to @dswigle for having this marketfriday!

It's been awhile since I had one to share.


signature.gif


Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

()]

Sort:  

Living in small town rural Canada does not support markets like this. So it was a real treat to see one. Thank you. Just a question. Do you have polish blood or do you just like the international cuisine?

I am 100% Polish... and I married a 100% Sicilian... great combo for food!

This is one of only two markets within an hour or so drive from me. Years ago, there were some awesome Polish Markets in a little city called Hamtramck (embedded within the Detroit city limits) but that is WAY TOO FAR for me go to alone.

omg! Your post made me sooo hungry. I wish all stores were still like that. My husbands family are Ukrainian, lots of similar foods there that I've grown to love. Was there any fresh baked bread?

Lol- I know!
I was going to get some more pictures by the deli and bakery but it was Tuesday and in that area (and in Michigan) it was Paczki Day so that part of the store was CROWDED!

ss.jpg

Yes they have so many good baked goods too!

oh my. That looks really delicious. Lucky!

Wowza, such interesting stuff there! Yum!!
I remember fam making head cheese too, haha, that was a spooky sight when you opened the pot lid!!
And taking it to school... not the fondest memories. It's yummy though :)

Oh man!! You had to take it to school?! That is so NOT cool! lol

Yeah.. and the smell as it was boiling? EEK! Never get that out of my head.. or nostrils!

hahaha yeaahhh... stepdads are funny creatures, lol

ohh it looks very provocative all those Polish foods, they also look very healthy and clean !! the higuiene is the main thing of each food thanks for sharing your trip to the supermarket

This store is a place I could hangout ALL the time- so many unique foods that bring back memories from my childhood

at us if the unknown number calls by phone, it most likely advertising :))) I hope your husband got his phone :)

LOL, I thought this was a clever post! Imagine a tour through the polish specialty shop! I may have to make one at "Buddy's Hometown IGA" we live in a very small town, ya know! I thoroughly enjoyed this one! I wish I could vote twice!

I love small town stores! They always have some really cool items for sale!

A very good meat from grass-fed farm is a must I would say! Oh my, looking at the photos, I also feeling like going there. Pig's feet, oh my God, my favourite. We cook it in soy sauce vinegar ginger way, it is yummylicious :) thanks for sharing your market trip. 😍

I've never lived near a Polish market, so I see many things I've never tasted. Oh, yes saurkraut is good, I've had that, and smoked salmon is to die for! What I really want to try is one of those Paczki that you have in that comment below your post! Those look delicious! Thanks for making us drool in #steemitbloggers 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76