Market Friday: One Day Early For Girls' Day Out & Prepping For Surgery

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday Is Really First Step In Preparing For Surgery


It's not that I want to lie to her... so I said it was a "girls' day out" and we were going for a bye-bye to the Baby Girl store. She loves the Baby Girl store. They have so many cool things in there; and that's where she gets her mani/pedi done every couple of months.

See... my Baby Girl (a 100-lb, seven-year old chocolate lab) is my immediate world. All the kids and grandchildren live a minimum of two hours away, so this sweet gal has become my baby. I talk to her every day, all day long. We curl up for bedtime together; she even has her own pillow in the bed.


Well earlier this week I took her the veterinarian's office. The fatty tissue growth on her left shoulder (which you can see in this picture) has grown more. A few months ago, I took her in for her six-month re-check on the growth and it was measuring at about 11.43 cm (4.5-inches) and within the last couple of months I noticed it getting bigger. This past Monday it measured at about 15.24cm (six inches). So the time had come... we had to either deal with it or schedule surgery.
Surgery date is May 22.



_

Surgery Prep

First stop! Have to get her nails trimmed. it's almost her scheduled time, but with her surgery looming, I needed to get them done now as she would never be able to get on the table for the girls to trim, buff and round off her nails.




Trying To Get Some Attention

_

"Hey Steve... Hey, Steve... Mr. Pet Co sales guy... Hey... I'm talking to you!"




Oh Geez! Would You Look At That Face?

Can she make me feel anymore guilty? You'd think she was standing in a firing squad line up.

She does this every single time... the sad face. The pitiful puppy eyes... and you know what? I'm a sucker for it every single time!

And every single visit, she gets a treat or a new toy... yeah, told you, I'm a sucker for those big brown eyes.




Guess Who's Still In The Doghouse?

NOT her. She's the princess of this house. Looks like today is going to be a day of kissing butt... being extra nice and spoiling her more than she already is.




Who Wants To Be The Bearer Of Bad News?

So, which one of you want to tell the Princess about May 22? I'm looking for volunteers. Anyone?

Sadder than sad thing about this... the cost of this surgery will range between $1048 up to $1329.... sigh

This is more than I pay a year for medical co-pays, prescriptions and office visits combined... double sigh


signature.gif

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

@goldendawne pets need care , good food ..glad to see how much caring you are about your dog...

Oh my love for her is endless... she is probably my best friend... after my husband of course- lol

its lovely ...
follow me on my posts and blogs upvote and resteem me it gives me courage @ahsanbukhari

So sweet dog

She really is.. she is the sweetest thing. But very unsocial. She's like me- hates crowds and loud noise.

Your dog looks like a big sweetie. Love those looks she gives.

She really is the sweetest thing and has such a personality.
She can make me feel guilty with one look; but when she's happy and excited, you can see it in her eyes too.

Yes, my dogs are the same way. Love them more than most people :-)

best of luck, I am sure all will be fine in a couple days.

Just waiting for the surgery date right now- yeah, I'm stressing beyond belief

Oh yes, that look of disapproval. We've all seen it. LOL

I know, right?!?! She sure has an outspoken personality.

Darn Dogs! We love them so much. Trips to the vet this past year were epic for me to the tune of $4,200! It was like the perfect storm for a couple of months. I've made it so many years with just minimum vet bills but this year I paid my dues. Blessings. Glad you have her.

OMGosh!!!! That is WOW! SO much.... It is truly unbelievable how much these animals mean to us. When I am down and out with an episode; she's right there. When my husband is in bed sleeping late, as it's one of the rare days off he has, she's in there whining for him to wake up and play.

I had a border collie/Australian shepherd mix once. He was incredibly intelligent and full of personality. He was way beyond what I might consider to be "dog". He was my constant and trusted companion for 13 years. When he passed my soul ripped apart. Now I just host two dogs, but love them too. And lucky dogs they are. Two daily walks, no leashes, out in the fields behind the house hunting the illusive coyote and rabbit. Of course (don't tell anyone) they sleep on the couches and get frequent servings of chicken! Blessings.

I tend to think I will be the same way with her. Although she is not a certified companion dog, she is one of the biggest lift-me-ups when I am having a bad day due to my auto-immune disease. Just having her lay her head/chin on my chest or cuddle up next to me helps bring some relief and contentment.

I can relate. I have had a decades long metabolic disorder (not diabetes) that at times, as in earlier this week for two days, lays me low and puts me in the darkest of energies. It is a burden the dogs help me cope with. Actually to tell you the truth, there have been times that I wanted to end it all, but my concern for the dogs kept me from it. Thank you God... I mean Dog!

That's a beautiful dog! And her face in that one picture haha I really think she tried to make you feel guilty :D
That's a lot of money too >.<

Yes she has the saddest faces when necessary! She can truly pull on my heart-strings.

fortunately we have a rainy day fund... it will be pouring on May 22

Those pictures where she is looking at you like you're horribly mistreating her are so cute. I wish you guess all the best in the prep time and the surgery ♡

Yeah she has a way about her.. she speaks with her eyes so much!
Fingers crossed as we get closer to the surgery date

There is pet insurance. I never got it because I thought with all my animals I would be spending a fortune on just the premiums. Poor thing. I hate it when one of mine needs surgery. But I know you will spoil her both before and after...

Yeah I have heard about pet insurance before too. Never once considered it but... WOW!
We knew this day would come, just wasn't expecting it so soon. We only first noticed the lump about 18 months ago. At the rapid speed of growth, we know we need to do this.

As for spoiling her... oh yeah... I got that covered

I am sure she'll be just fine. She's cute.

I am positive she will also. Just breaks my heart knowing what she'll have to go through in a month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86