Market Friday - The Amsterdam Flower Market


20180731-IMG_7669.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Today is Market Friday hosted by @dswigle. So for today I am posting a few shots I took at the Amsterdam flower market a few weeks ago.


20180730-IMG_7541.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

This is a picture of the market from the back, you can see here that all the 'permanent' (i use quotes as they are technically not permanent, but they've been there as long as I've been alive) stalls for the flower sellers are actually floating on the canal. They're shop boats!


20180731-IMG_7670.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

The place is obviously full of colour and life from the wide variety of flowers for sale.


20180731-IMG_7671.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Though the most prevalent and obviously popular flower for sale is naturally the Tulip, Holland's national flower. You can buy wooden ones, plastic ones, real ones, multicoloured ones, real ones, and unborn ones (seeds).


20180731-IMG_7672.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Oooh cactus in a jar.. I actually liked that one.. they had lots of miniature terrariums like that hanging around ... I kinda wished I had tiny star wars figurines.. like storm troopers. I would have slyly put them into the terrariums to confuse, and entertain the next person that spots them. ;)


20180731-IMG_7673.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

My preference has always been to plastic flowers as they look nice and colourful and the non-plastic variety always tend to die on me .. I cannot keep a plant alive to save my life.


20180731-IMG_7674.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

So there you have it, some nice flowers and colour from the famous Amsterdam flower market. Its definitely worth checking out, and maybe buying a few things, but if you are an international visitor (outside the EU) perhaps check if you are allowed to bring them back into your country before buying.. pretty sure the Australians probably wouldn't let you, they're border controls for biologicals is pretty strict.. don't know about other places.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Thank you so much @eveuncovered and @ewkaw for what you have told about the cacti with flowers. Never bought them and will not in the future.

Even thinking, that some greedy manufacturer would use hot glue on them or stick needles into them, makes me most angry!!! Thank you again for this explanation, so helpful.

I second this sentiment. I never imagined this was something people would do.

The focus on these photos are awesome. Those cacti are really visually appealing if I didn't know they were hot glued in place. A shame that they had to be modified for more visual appeal. It's like telling mother nature she needs plastic surgery. Putting that thought aside, the pictures are awesome :D

Thanks :) To be honest I think the cacti would have been beautiful on their own, they didn't need the flowers glued to them.. for added appeal. Though I love the colourfulness of it (and that's why I took the photos) I do not love what they did to the cacti to achieve this.

I love the very colorful cacti! I didn't know that they bear flowers like that. They are so beautiful. How I wish I can also have plants like that.

But there is this prior comment that the flowers are fake. That is too bad. Sometimes vendors do such thing just to generate income. They don't care about their buyers. That is so sad. Anyway, karma does not sleep.

I wonder how they take care of terrariums because it will be hard to water the plants in a bottle with such very small opening. You may flood the whole terrarium or may deform the "landscape" if you pour into that opening. Also, how will they wipe and keep the bottle clean in the long run? Someone must be very patient in taking care of such a small and delicate stuff.

The flowers on the cacti being fake is a great shame. I hadn't realised myself. You make good points about the terrariums, but I suspect that little care is given to keep them long term. They look nice so people buy them but I bet its just another thing that doesn't live for very long.

I think yes, living things in a terrarium do not last long. I guess it is because living things have their own space but not in a bottle. 😊

I have something to say about those cacti with flowers! They are fake and I'm mad about that. I once bought a handful of them, and they died pretty quickly, other than the flower part, which I noticed was fucking hot glued into the cacti, I got so mad about that! 😤😤😤

Tell me about it. It makes me boil when I see that! Such pretty little cactus all tortured with hot glue or needles. Yes... I have seen those colourful fowers all simply stuck to the cactus with a needle making tons of little holes.
Never buy those!

Noted! I will avoid them in future!

Really? Wow I had no idea, I've seen cacti with flowers on them before in the wild, if these aren't genuine I'd be disappointed for sure!

I was sure I was the only one getting mad by this, but apparently not!

Not only you. I would love to hot glue some flowers to the person that does that :p

Yep. So if even bying cute little cacti with flowers, you better look real closely to see if they are actually real.

Thank you for your awesome participation in Market Friday. While I was able to read your entire post, I do not have enough internet on vacation to write proper replies, but please know that I appreciate the time and effort put in to making this challenge a success.

You are, indeed a wonderful addition to Market Friday.

Upped and steemed

Thanks so much @dswigle, I have been enjoying this challenge :) I am glad you enjoyed my work. And don't worry, vacation is for getting away from the internet imo ;)

Nice colorful post @fiftysixnorth i do love cactuses especially those little ones with the colorful flowers but they have to be real i have about 6 of them on my balcony they bloom in the most amazing colors :)

Thanks @hanging, yes, the real ones are best :)

So beautiful flower picture.very good marketfriday.

Ooohhhh these are gorgeous!!!
Am sure @ewkaw and @blacklux are gonna love these too... being in the cactus phase right now... :)
Yes... the cactus in the jar looks good... And glass jars in the light always look good too! :) Have a happy weekend, my friend!!

Hmmm... except that those babies were tortured with hot glue and needles to attach those fake flowers on.

Love the tulips though :)

Fake? They stuck them on with hot glue?? That's horrible... Why would they do that!
And I thought they were so lovely, blooming like that... :(

Yes, the tulips are pretty...

I'm not gonna let Punki see those poor souls glued! 🙈

Like the tulips, tho!

Yes, keep Punki awayyyy.... Poor thing!

Thanks! Happy Weekend to you too! And in reference to the below comments with @ewkaw; I had no idea either that they did that. Its quite awful that they do that!

Yeaa.. it's pretty common unfortunately. They look cute and colorful, but most of the time they will just die after you try to remove the flower.

Yeahhh, I just was shocked that these were pulled off other cactuses to be hot glued onto these... Double tragedy!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Ohhh those are the brightest cacti I've ever seen. Love them! Edit: Oops, just saw they were fake. It's not your fault @fiftysixnorth. Still a pretty photo. :)

Thanks :) Yeah it was a bit of a disappointment to find out they are fake!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76