Market Friday

in #marketfriday7 years ago (edited)

Oh, where has the time gone? I woke up this morning and realized that there would be no eating fresh in this house until I went to the market. Good morning! Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (that is me! ) It is off to the market for us, pronto. Hurry up and get dressed. It is late and we need to get out the door.

You can come in your pajamas, but, I guarantee you will be stared at or arrested, depending on your state of dress. :)

IMG_79812.JPG

The cucumbers were all lined up in neat little rows. I have a craving for a cucumber and avocado salad. All I need are avocados, cucumbers, garlic, green onions and chopped cilantro. I already have the lemon and limes - and a squeeze from them will finish it off nicely.

IMG_7980.JPG

I love these little yellow peppers. I ask for one pound and wait while the woman weighs them out for me. Peppers of all colors are loaded with antioxidants and a great source of vitamin C. I picked the yellow one this week because its sweetness pairs nicely with the recipe that I have.

IMG_5688.JPG

I am mentally writing down ingredients I need for the next few days of food. I spy the chili peppers and tomatoes needed for a bean dish.... my day is much easier than I had anticipated. They were the perfect ripeness for my needs.

IMG_7984.JPG

"Ten pounds of broccoli please?" Hehe... Just making sure she was paying attention to me. I only need about ... Yes! That is perfect. In case you didn't know, broccoli is one of those nutritional powerhouses. What it contains is a blog all in itself. Never skip our on your broccoli. :)

unnamed (2).jpg

Onions and Squash and that is it for food. I gather these up and head over to the flowers. Who can possibly eat without flowers on their table? ;) Well, okay... But, only if I have to.

IMG_7910.JPG

Lilies always make such a beautiful statement. I will look no further and have them wrap them up and sigh to myself, considering this to be a successful #MarketFriday after all.

´¨)
¸.• ´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.• Thanks for taking the time to come along on my #MarketFriday! As always, thank you for taking the time to stop by. I encourage you to visit the other Markets with this hashtag - we can go on the world tour with them. Here are a few more challenges that you may want to partake in! Let me know if I have missed any !! Happy #MarketFriday people!!!! Go forth and bring me your day!! Then Steem!!

MonochromeMonday - initiated by @old-guy-photos
FruitandVeggiesMonday -initiated by @lenasveganliving
TreeTuesday - initiated by @old-guy-photos
BeachWednesday - by @lizanomadsoul
SunThursday - by @lizanomadsoul
BlueFlowersDay by @aditzu
LoveFriday - initiated by @liliana.duarte
MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle
SaturdayView - initiated by @luxurylifestyle
BeerSaturday - initiated by @detlev
BeautifulSunday - initiated by @ace108
SundayScentExperience - initiated by @dutchess

Colorchallenge (daily color tags) - initiated by @kalemandra
MyPictureDay - initiated by @timsaid
BeautifulDay - initiated by @barbara-orenya
IntroduceYourHomeTown - initiated by @redtravels
Travelmap (themes change weekly) - initiated by @lizanomadsoul
WatercolorChallenge by @kalemandra
RosesOpenWeekend by @rosesopenweekend
ArtExplosion by @juliakponsford
TinyArtChallange by @oceansoul
ColorMyMandala by @kalemandra
Magicalmoments by @magicalmoments
MonoMad by @brumest

Sort:  

I always wonder what to do with a cucumber. This sounds delish. Taking it with me and will give it an upvote later. After the 30 minutes so you get the full payout.

Thank you so much! That is so kind of you! I appreciate your thoughtfulness and good luck with the cucumbers. They are really good this way. Let me know if you want more recipes for them. I love my cucumbers! :)

Have a fabulous Friday!

I really must try this idea. All I ever do is have them in a dull salad :)

I think you might like it! 😎

This is what my mom did with cucumbers and I still make it and love it!
Sometimes I peel them first, sometimes not...a quick vid, just for you @molometer

That looks interesting Paul. You got some kind of science experiment going on there? lol Better hurry up and have a go at this as summer is on the way out already :)

I was basically CRAWLING my way around the fresh fruits and veggies. My sciatic nerve decided to make a scene right at the entrance! Bought the tiniest of bananas, seemed like the were meant for toddlers or for very tiny people. 😄

Yikes!! Need a stroller?

beautiful photos..

very yummy post. i a am hungry lol

Yumm fresh fruits and vegetables

Yes!!!Help yourself! There are plenty! :)

I'll be in my fur only. Do they sell kitties there? 😁

LoL... I just can't help laughing. I may need the doghouse.

There's plenty of room!

Should we call it Market Friday, or Medicine Friday because the power of vegetable healing is incredible? I can't participate today since it 5 pm in Croatia already, but next Friday I am sure I will. :)

Hvala !! I know, right? Medicine Friday sounds right! :) So that you will know for next time, because we are on a sliding time zone, some people in Europe and the Far East post anywhere in close proximity to Friday. No appointment necessary! I understand the time difference, but, appreciate the visit! Thank you and I look forward to a day when it is convenient to you.

We should start Medicine Friday as a new challenge and share maybe health benefits of certain vegetables and fruits. :) I will participate for sure next Friday. :)

Looking forward to it! :))

dswigle welldone this is fantastic article & i will taste all varaeties

Thank you so much! I look forward to perhaps seeing another Indian Market someday!!! :)

I was wondering what happened to your entry..........I am glad you made it lol. Beautiful veggies I hope you saved some for Monday. rsd & upv 😊🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉 😊

Thanks you for your always support! I was running so far behind!!! But, Monday is already taken care of! :)

Always a pleasure Denise and thank you too 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

What an awesome walk we made with you through your market my dear !! Thanks for sharing with us, I keep your post with and will try my best to post a market friday today...Had prepared some photos that I would post before going to work ! xoxo my friend ^_^
fruitsandveg.png

You are so sweet! Thank you, Barbara! Hehe. I love this little Wonkie with all his little fruits! I know how busy your Fridays are!! So, I appreciate the time and effort spent. xo

Say hello to Luigi for me! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81