#MarketFriday - A Vintage 80's Wedding

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Since I have not been out in awhile to get new pictures for a #marketfriday post, I thought I would share a vintage 80's wedding with you all. My 80's wedding to be precise.

click to find out (1).png

#marketfriday is by the lovely @dswigle

I'm not sure why I didn't think of this before, because weddings are a market all of their own and we did ours on a budget.

The kids father and I paid for our wedding. We found a wedding boutique that was having a moving sale. We got my wedding dress, shoes, the men's tux rentals, the wedding photography, flowers and our cake for a grand total of $1,800.

We were 19 and 21 years old so that was a lot of money for us to come up with but we managed it by making payments and we had it paid off by the time our big day came around.

For the record, I bought the rights to these photographs. The boutique offered that option when they were finished using them.

80s wedding.png

Some of our group photo's were taken before the ceremony. We had what was called a rainbow wedding, obviously because we chose a variety of colors for our wedding party to wear.

80s wedding (1).png

Other group photo's were taken immediately following the ceremony. Plus, the photo of our hands with the bouquet is one of my favorites.

80s wedding (2).png

My uncle gave me away and I was very happy he agreed to do so. My father was in attendance but there was uncertainty about rather he could make it to our big day.

80s wedding (3).png

We had a beautiful ceremony, however I was not crazy about some of the photo's taken of it. It felt a bit like someone was peeking in through a keyhole. I suppose it was a popular filter to use at the time though.

80s wedding (4).png

We signed the legal paperwork and then were off to our wedding reception.

80s wedding (5).png

We rented the deaf club for our reception and were very happy with our choice. It was perfect for our needs because we had a midday wedding and were not serving a meal at the reception.

wedding cake.jpg

I still love our wedding cake, even now knowing it is no longer in style.

I would say we spent closer to 2,000 by the time we rented the deaf club for our reception but that was a pretty good deal for the beautiful wedding we had on our budget.

We, of course, could have done it cheaper but we wanted the big white wedding with both of our huge families there for our big day.

For those of you who do not know, we lost my first husband to melanoma cancer. I am grateful for the years and beautiful memories that me and our children had him for.

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  

Everything looks awesome and you were a really beautiful bride!! I can't believe you were able to get everything for the price..amazing!The cakes look so pretty! I guess you know that it just makes me want to have some cake now?! 😊 ❤

Thank you@deerjay! The boutiques moving sale really made the price possible. They wanted to sell items instead of pay to move them. Everything they offered was heavily discounted so we really lucked out. :D Yeah, that cake would be amazing to have again! ❤

You're welcome Deb! This was the closest thing I could find...🎂

It was truly a beautiful wedding! It came out very nice. I love that you did it all on a budget and still had such a lovely wedding.

These are beautiful photos and a very special time, thank you for sharing such an intimate time. You look beautiful

You were a beautiful bride Deb! Great photos and what a gorgeous wedding. You pulled out all the stops! ❤️

Thanks, we did pull out all of the stops. It was one of the best days of my life.

hello I also get married in the 80's. that young people, as the years go by hehe
Happy Friday

It was a nice time to get married. :D

Thanks for sharing your wedding and life story with us, Debra. A happy and sad one. I'm sorry for your lost but is comforting to know you and your kids keep those wonderful memories of your husband and cherish like a treasure. Big hug, sweetie!

Thank you @nolasco! It was one of the hardest things we've had to survive in this lifetime but I think we came out stronger on the other side.

Indeed, I believe you, Debra! It's hard to imagine... But I'm wishing you all the happiness in the world!

Congratulations @debralee! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

thanks for giving us another great market as always @debralee

Thank you for stopping by! :D

Awww so cute! What a clever way for them to do the cake. Not like those giant is it going fall over things people seem to always want. Have an amazing day and weekend as well!

Thanks @enjar! I hope you have an amazing weekend as well. :D

Beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing your life with us 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42