Market Friday With @dswigle 'Very Old Tools'

Hey everyone, have you heard of @dswigle and her epic #marketfriday ? If not where on Earth have you been all these years? Do check her out here give her some love submit an entry and lets all have some fun shall we? https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@dswigle/market-friday-shops-for-freedom

20190703_152257.jpg

I recently went to Chamberlain's a high end very popular hardware retail outlet in South Africa which has been going since 1903 do check out the site here more of that here https://www.chamberlains.co.za/?SID=344n7smdtb2ers4tidhjqljca6

20190703_152251.jpg

20190703_152225.jpg

This is an interesting walk down 'memory lane' this is what tools looked like back in the day, and by back in the day I mean over 100 years ago. My goodness how technology has advanced!

20190703_152255.jpg

20190703_152230.jpg

I remember around 23 years ago when I was in high school we used to also use 'oldish tools' manual handsaws and manual planers, many would argue the true form of workmanship and carpentry?

20190703_152243.jpg

Here they have in a 'historic display' cabinet how it used to be done back in the day. This hardware store was started over a century ago by brothers and has just grown from strength to strength, I guess if you have 100 years to perfect it, that kind of helps right?

20190703_152244.jpg

20190703_152302.jpg

On a topic totally unrelated any guesses as to where BTC will be come Sunday Evening/ Monday morning? I say $9500 for some or other reason I feel one last pullback before we go up and hit $16 000 odd, sound about right?

Trust you have an amazing weekend further.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

I love Market Friday! What a fun guy shopping trip - I love old tools. Modern power tools intimidate me lol!

Hhehe you and me both albeit use them pretty well both old and new ;P

Have not seen a store with old tools like this one, what a collection of old pieces, some memories about life before electric implements arrived.

Sure folk who have a passion for old are going to love this Craig.

Selected today #teamsouthafrica nomination, great joining in with Denise on #marketfriday

Hehe true that.... Chamberlains silver lakes has it.. like a museum rather cool hey.. Cheer$;)

I love these old tools, we also used to work with them at school!!

Same here just these are a little older than those.. I guess? ;) Cheer$;)

I am humbled the way you start out your Market Friday post. Thank you so much for the incredible introduction. Now what happens when I don't live up to their expectations? Wow! You really outdid yourself this week and I was trying to decide whether it was a museum or a second hand hardware store? Some of these relics are incredible and I am sure will never be seen again and others are just something that your great-grandma might have used. Isn't that incredible? I have to admit that I do enjoy using tools on occasion, but I really enjoy the older tools because it feels more like building with your own hands so to speak. Perhaps I'm not explaining myself quite correctly.

I can remember watching my father and his father before him crafting things with their hands and using tools for help, but things for made so much more permanent with notches and things made without even using a nail, sort of like the log cabin. I can remember my father building things without ever banging a nail in and those structures are still standing today. I am amazed and enthralled by your hardware store and most of all I'm tickled pink that you are part of Market Friday this week. We have missed you and I am so glad to see you back here at Market Friday.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Hey my friend you really are far too kind thank you and thanks a ton for the tips I really appreciate it. Amazing how tech has taken us from the dark ages, or some of us anyways hehe.. Have a lovely Sunday x x

🎁 Hi @craigcryptoking! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.232 which ranks you at #2708 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2710).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66