You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday visits on Thursday!

in #marketfriday5 years ago

There's just nothing like home made ice cream. My mom would make a base and my brother and I would churn what seemed like forever. I was really happy when my folks got an electric motor churn (dual purpose. The motor could be used to churn butter, too. Happy day.)

Looking forward to more from the island!

Sort:  

Haha! I will bet that you did a secret happy dance when an electric motor was injected into the mix there. We had a relative in Pennsylvania who was Mennonite, although had no electric (strange now that I think about that)and they had a churn and all of us kids would fuss over who got to do it next! LOL

Oh, the island is coming on down tomorrow! It will be a #BeautifulSunday, of course! Thank you, Tom, for stopping by an for leaving your always interesting comments behind! I look forward to them. Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

Randy and I would churn without much bellyachin' because the rewards were just amazingly high.

Every Saturday Mom would tell us how much cream/butter she needed and we'd get to work on it because she'd start baking. Fresh butter on fresh bread is pretty darn special. And the Ice Cream was even better.

And there was cash involved. We got to sell the excess cream. Every other Sunday we'd drop a cream can off at the railroad depot (on the way to church, don't you know) and by that Friday there'd be a check in the mail.

The Mennonites where I grew up were mechanized. They worked together a lot but weren't communal at all. There's a pair of brothers I knew pretty well that once owned the Flying W Rodeo stock. That's a whole 'nother story.

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Visits On Thursday! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66