Why Market Cap means nothing

in #marketcap7 years ago (edited)

The thing with the Market Cap

and why I don’t care about it

Market-Cap.jpg
Source: https://coveredcallbasics.com/market-capitalization-why-size-does-matter/

Every time when I start doing my research I take a quick look on certain communities, mostly different Facebook groups, to figure out a potential new coin. Pretty soon I took notice that people, when discussing about a coin, usually refer to the amount of circulating supply and the total supply. Especially when they are against a certain coin …
They argue that the price will never reach 10$ if the total supply is (as an example) 38 billion coins, because this would lead to a market cap of $ 380 billion which is obviously a pretty high number in cryptocurrencies these days.


Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/ (19.07.2017)

Usually I would agree. Today it seems unreachable due to the current total Market Cap of around $85 billion. But this applies just now. Time will change and the market cap will rise and rise. Maybe sooner than we all might imagine.

When discussing with people I like to compare the Crypto market with stock exchanges and how they developed over time. Back in the late 1800 when the first Stock exchanges appeared it is highly likely that people thought exactly like they do today. After 200 years of trading the amount of money which is put in stocks is insane.

Today there are 60 major stock exchanges in the world with a total value of $69 trillion!
If one take a look at just the North American stock exchanges the numbers looks like that:


Source: http://money.visualcapitalist.com/all-of-the-worlds-stock-exchanges-by-size/

To me $85 billion looks pretty negligibly compared to the $28 trillion :-P

In my opionion many people have to understand that the cryptoworld is just at it’s very beginning at that we will see incredible gains over the next few decades! We as early adopters are in an awesome position that we can buy coins and tokens for such a low price – people in 5 years will wish they discovered the Crypto world earlier, like we did!

I need to add that this is, of course, just for long term holders applicable. Short term traders will probably need to take a quick look on supply and market cap to evaluate the opportunity of a quick gain. I am also aware that this is nothing new to many people, still wanted to speak out my mind about it. The previous text is based on quick research and my very own opinion.

If you like my story please upvote and / or follow me for more - if you don’t mind 😉
As last time – stay tuned

p.s.: I try to publish at least 2 posts / “articles” per week and I will try to vary the topics according to my interests. If you want to read something special or if you are interested in my person or anythig else please leave a comment so I can adjust my channel.

Thanks and best regards to everyone

p.p.s.: I will work on the formatting - right now it kind of sucks - hope it is still ok for you guys :-P

Sort:  

I LOVE your post, each time I try to explain this, but nobody understand. I'll send this article now, thanks you !

Thank you mate!
Yeah some people think to short term i guess - one have to see the whole picture

Yep, just Bill Gates could almost get all cryptocurrencies available (suppose price doesn't change with demand), it's still a ridiculous market cap

It is indeed. Will be exciting to see where it goes over the next years

Congratulations @bon3s90! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48