The Sunday market at La BastillesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #market6 years ago (edited)

This morning I enjoyed one of the new episodes of Chef's Table on Netflix with my coffee. I just love to discover the stories of chefs who have chosen to follow their love of food and developed their passion into so much goodness and beauty.
This episode was about Corrado, the Sicilian pastry chef who runs Caffè Sicilia in a village called Noto.
It is so inspiring to me to see the incredible work and passion with such a desire to create something beautiful and authentic and using only the best ingredients from the land.

He talked about how where there before was fruit orchards, now there are supermarkets and he said something very true, do we really think this is civilisation? So Corrado, when traders no longer wanted to buy the Sicilian Romana almonds and they were in danger of becoming extinct, went about to have it organised so they would buy directly from the farmers and he has managed to do so, to make sure the almonds from Sicily is still available. I want to try and make his almond ice-cream and I also more than before want to travel to Sicily and to visit Caffè Sicilia!

In a good and inspired mood it was time for Sunday market at the Bastille, only 5 minutes away. I arrived late so most of the merchants had started packing up, but enjoyable anyhow and I managed to get a few ingredients for the week ahead. Not the best photos but it gives a tiny view of a part of Paris I appreciate very much. It is a direct connection to the earth and people growing our food. It is a blessing.

Fresh new garlic
IMG_5788.JPG

The watermelon guy
IMG_5796.JPG

Always someone giving you a little flirt in France
IMG_5795.JPG

This is my favorite herb man. Today I got just coriander.
IMG_5794.JPG

Some mint
IMG_5790.JPG

Always lots of pretty flowers too
IMG_5786.JPG

Its asparagus season.
IMG_5783.JPG

And fresh peas too. Next week I will get some
IMG_5787.JPG

I did get some walnuts
IMG_5784.JPG

I hope you enjoyed and support local and seasonal food as much as you can. Wish you all a happy week.

Sort:  

I love chef’s table, specially the episode about Francis Mallman!

Oh yes, he is that wild man who cooks outside?! One of my favorite episodes as well! Thats how I would love to live. Would be just perfect :-)

Yes! In Patagonia! Sooo perfect!

Yes!! I would be happy just tending to the fire :-)

Congratulations @trudereed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

How lovely of you @meno Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63