If You Wanted To KnowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #market7 years ago

cmegroup.jpg
cmegroup photo
I post a lot about my "futures trading." I think that is OK, because that is who I am. I have been working and studying for years now about futures trading and how to become a profitable futures trader.

The above photo of a futures trader doesn't depict me as a futures trader.
You have heard the phrase, "over kill." That is how the photo appears to me anyway.
But, that is what most people think when they hear the phrase, "futures trader."

All I need is one laptop of a standard size. 15 to 17 inch will be fine. Thank you.
Of course that wasn't my beginning start into the world of "futures."
I wanted the biggest, the best, and the most, Ha
Now I know that wasn't needed for me. We are discussing what I need here.

Let me show you my actual trading chart. I will explain a little about it with this post.
unnamed.png
For this lesson I will explain one or two items that you are looking at. First will be the "tick" aspect of this chart.

A tick is the movement up or down of a futures chart. What we are looking at here is the "ES" chart.
ES is the symbol of the "S & P" futures market when you look at the CME Group markets.
"Z" in this case is the contract month. It is the December contract month. Each time you buy or sell.
You are entering into a contract with the other person taking the other side of your trade.

As is the case with all contracts. You must fulfill your obligation to the other person or Entity. When you open an account.
You must sign an obligatory agreement to that fact. Contracts must be fulfulled according to rules and law.
That is why we trade in and out. If you hold the contract until the contract date has expired.
You must deliver to the holder of your contract the amount and number entailed in the "futures contract."
Very few do that.
The ES contract is now well over $100 thousand dollars.
You must deliver the specified number of shares and other obligations such as is contained in the contract.

All the above is just to get you to understand. It is not a game. It is serious business.

The chart above is an "8 tick (r) range chart. Each bar or candlestick is the same height in the chart.
It is not a time based chart. The advantage is that you will know exactly at what price the candlestick finishes. That can be important.
unnamed.png

8-ticks of price movement up or down, equals $100 dollars for each contract.
Or 12.50 for each tick of price movement up or down.

If you are trading, say 10 contracts with each trade. That of course means $1000 dollars.
Now before you get excited. Please understand that it is not as easy as it might seem to be.
If it was. We would all be floating around in the sky of our dreams.
excited.jpg
(Pixabay)

I think we have explored enough about futures trading for this post.
In the coming days. I will try to add more information about futures trading.
That is what I do and who I am. Just so you know.

Thank you for learning with me. It has been a long, hard journey for me to get this far in trading.

So, if you are considering it.
Please understand that it will most likely be very difficult for you and also very costly.
You make the decision. I did many years ago.

Francis

Sort:  

I've had a really long day today. I don't have much energy left so I will read and study this tomorrow. (Then I will comment properly.)
Thank you for breaking this process down for all of us.

Lose is part of life , it's how we can contribute the lose towards a gain in the future

@journeyoflife
Thank you for your input. You are correct. The losses is something that we remember as well as wins.
And especially the painful losses. That is how I learn. Maybe we all do.

Francis

I doubt I could handle the pressure of losing. I admire your approach.

@doctorjohn
You are right on in your thinking. It is the most difficult part of trading.
Accepting the losses as they come.
I still have a lot of trouble with that. I have had a few near misses recently too.
It behooves me to take care and observe the market before I make any trade.
I hate losses.

Francis

Very good working,nice share

@sabbir24
Thank you for helping me to continue on.
Steemians such as yourself.
Keep me trying to do well in my posting.

Francis

I'll be watching for future posts thanks for sharing

I think trading needs more than a ready-made laptop and computer
Perhaps experience is more important than this
Greetings francisk

@walidsalah
Each trader is different in character and personality. That is why so few actually ever learn to trade profitably.
In spite of teaching and training. We have our own mind and will.
And the successful traders nearly all have a different style and approach.
That is why I do what I do. I am different. Maybe that explains the costly difference. Ha

Francis

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

That was amazing post and @originalworks,
Congrat for u .. and come to join with my blog also reestem, comment, and upvote too.

Dont leave before following me @agmalirsadi . Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93