Lesson #3 - Steemit Emphasis - Check out my Markdown Course!

in #markdown7 years ago

Learning Markdown helps you make your great content look great!

I created an online course called Steem Markdown, which teaches you how to use Markdowns to format your Steemit posts.

In this post, I am including information from Lesson #3 - Emphasis.

If you want to access the full online course (19 lessons) for FREE, click here!

Getting Started

Markdown allows you to emphasize text within your post.

  • Italics, also known as emphasis in Markdown, uses a single set of asterisks or underscores.
    *italics* or _italics_

  • Bold, also known as strong emphasis in Markdown, uses a double set of asterisks or underscores.
    **bold** or __bold__

  • You can both italicize and bold text within your post by using a triple set of asterisks or underscores.
    ***bold and italics*** or __bold and italics__

  • Strikethrough uses two tildes.
    ~~strikethrough~~

  • Underline is NOT available in Markdown, and Steemit does not recognize the HTML underline tag.


Important things to remember:

  • Make sure that there are no spaces between asterisks, underscores, and/or tildes and the word or phrase that you want to bold, italicize, or strike through.
  • You can use a combination of asterisks and underscores to create the formatting you need to emphasize your post.

The Comparison

What you type:

I use **bold** and _italics_ to emphasize important text.
I can use ***bold and italics*** at the same time, _or in **combination**_.
I can ~~strike out~~ words also.

What you see:

I use bold and italics to emphasize important text.
I can use bold and italics at the same time, or in combination.
I can strike out words also.

Practice Makes Perfect

Now it's your turn to practice what you have learned.

  • Open Steemit.com in another tab and click Submit a Story.
  • Copy the following text and paste it into the Steemit Markdown editor. Watch how Markdown commands create emphasis in your post.

There are *two ways* to _italicize text_.``There are two ways to bold text.```You can use ***bold and italics*** at the same time, _or in **combination**_.
You can also ~~strike out~~ words!

Help Support the Steem Markdown Online Course!

Thanks for reading my post today. It means a lot to me.

I wanted to pass along some ideas of how you can support this project, so that we can help more people.

  1. Signup for the Steem Markdown online course. It is FREE! There are 19 lessons that teach both basic and advanced Markdown topics, as well as some HTML tips and tricks .
  2. Tell other people about the course. If you think that Steem Markdown online course is beneficial to you, then resteem this post or create a review post about the course.
  3. Leave a short review in the comments sections. I would love to tell other people about how the course helped you.
  4. Although the course is FREE, if you feel lead to then please make a Steem or SBD donation. Any amount would be appreciated.

Have a blessed day! And thanks for stopping by.

@sumatranate

Sort:  

Steem markdown is very helpful for making post in good way. @sumatranate your online course is very good. I have visited your online course. Well explained all the content.
Thanks for this @sumatranate

@irrahul, thanks for the kinds words. I am glad that the course was helpful.

I reestemed this post because I believe this post is very useful and helps everyone

@grace44, thanks for resteeming my post. That means a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43