Young Marines Boot Camp

in #marines6 years ago

My son decided to join the Young Marines program at his school this year. This weekend was his first drill weekend. These pics were posted by the group's Facebook. It appears like they had a bit of a "shark encounter" where the drill instructors "shock" the new recruits. I'm looking forward to talking to him later today about how it went. Very proud of him for getting involved with this program!

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg

Sort:  

OUT-YOU KNOW WHAT-STANDING.....even if it is Young "Marines." ;-)

It's a good outfit, as are many like it. Great to offer a little discipline and help a young person who might have an interest in the military find out a bit abut what it's like....and maybe find out it is or is not for them before they have a 4 yr commitment.

If they do "go in" later, they'll have years of a leg up to prepare and help them in their service. As my Jarhead buddies would say....

RAH

I just love this. I was in the young marines when I was a kid and it got me through some tough times. That program is awesome for kids when it comes to discipline and responsibilities. Excellent choice young man you will never regret it.

Good for your son! That’s awesome that his school has that program. I’d be interested to see what he has to say about it, as well.

Fantastic! and proud you should be. Was talking to my son this weekend about him joining the reserves (while he's away at university) had a glint of a tear in my eye (probably dust) and a swelled up chest. I think more youth need to build a sense of pride and comradery with their peers. There are a lot out there that could use a quick kick in the seat, if you know what I mean. Sounds like a great program.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

A proud dad; it shows the lad has got some 'gumption' as we say here in the UK. A shame most kids these days don't have this level of enthusiasm or passion.

images.duckduckgo.com.png

It's good to know that young generation is participating in marine activities instead of wasting their time on social media :D great post @rakkasan84

@rakkasan84, how does this REALLY make you feel having served in one of the most prestigious units in Army history (I was in 326th EN BN, right up the street from you all 2007-2010)?

I first served 4 years in the Marine Corps and after a 2 year break in service enlisted in the Army and was stationed at Fort Campbell, KY. My experience with Rakkasans and especially the Rangers is that they despise Marines.

The Rakkasans are a tough crew that's for sure. I was a medic from 2006-2009 with 1-33 Cav. That will always be the highlight of my Army career. I've always had respect for the Marines, even if they can be very full of themselves at times.. The truth is overseas in Iraq and Afghanistan most Marine and Army Infantry units are conducting the same missions.

I volunteer with the Sea Cadets. I support CAP and the Young Marines along with other programs. We all do a part in mentoring whether or not the youth ultimately decides to join the military. It looks like they had a fun drill weekend.

They look so young, yet it is precisely when discipline and focus are much needed. Good for him, he is to be congratulated for joining up. All the best. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87