You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MEDICAL MARIJUANA ,CANCER and RSO ( Rick Simpson Oil )

in #marijuana8 years ago

I implore you please, you need to put a big disclaimer on this kind of stuff that there have been no scientific studies on these alternative therapies.

I'm not trying to be a killjoy here, but there is a HUGE difference between a longitudinal medical study on the long term effects of a medicine and a bunch on anecdotal evidence.

There are a lot of people who don't understand that, and while I'm sure your intentions are really good. I would encourage you to please present the truth in a fair, balanced and even manner. More people will be receptive to your message.

If you don't there could be hundreds or thousands of people who listen to you, believe you and then either get very sick or skip necessary life saving medical care.

I upvoted you because I've seen this stuff work first hand. However, because of the lack of scientific evidence I am hesitant to discuss it.

If you get a lot of traction on this as I believe you will, I'd like to ask you to consider using the funds to support real medical research into these treatments so we can understand better, if they really work and more importantly how and why they work.

What do you think? Is there real value in long term medical studies on things like this? I don't mean to deny people access to medicine, frankly the process is too long to be useful for many people. But when these types of ethnogens begin to show promise, perhaps there could be a legal avenue to begin proper human studies under professional medical guidance.

I'm curious to know your thoughts.

Sort:  

I do think that long term medical studies would be great . But unfortunately you will not see this happen and if you did the results would be tainted .Because if the results showed that it works that would stop the gravy train in my opinion.I say that having knowledge of alternative treatments so that one can make their own decision is a good thing to be able to do . Here are some statistics on lung cancer taken from http://www.lung.org/lung-health-and-diseases/lung-disease-lookup/lung-cancer/learn-about-lung-cancer/lung-cancer-fact-sheet.html?referrer=https://www.google.com/ The five-year survival rate for lung cancer is 54 percent for cases detected when the disease is still localized (within the lungs). However, only 15 percent of lung cancer cases are diagnosed at an early stage. For distant tumors (spread to other organs) the five-year survival rate is only 4 percent.
More than half of people with lung cancer die within one year of being diagnosed.

five-year survival rate is only 4 percent,And More than half of people with lung cancer die within one year of being diagnosed. I'm sorry I for one would not put a lot of faith in conventional treatment with those kind of statistics. But I also have to say that everyone should make their own decision based on choices that are presented to them.I am but a messenger to hopefully spread knowledge. Be this snake oil or a cure I cannot say.I am but a messenger.

Williambanks thank you for your imput and I did take your advice and I did put
disclaimer : there have been no scientific studies on these alternative therapies. at the end of the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57