Colorado town awaits test results of pot ingredient in water

in #marijuana8 years ago (edited)

Found this and thought it was interesting enough to share...

Bottled water is being distributed to residents of the small Colorado town of Hugo as officials investigate the possibility that a marijuana chemical has contaminated the water supply.

Officials announced Thursday that some field tests had found THC, marijuana's psychoactive ingredient, in the water, but they were awaiting the results of more definitive laboratory tests Friday.

Source - AP
http://www.hawaiinewsnow.com/story/32507927/colorado-town-awaits-test-results-of-pot-ingredient-in-water

How do you suppose THC got in the water supply? Also who else is considering a run to hugo to bottle some water of their own?

Sort:  

I had to chuckle when I saw this post and read the question about who is planning a run to Hugo, CO because I live in Colorado. This morning when I got to work, it was the topic of discussion. It was broadly agreed that Hugo should ship the water all over the US to cool all the violence. That will quickly replace Coca-Cola.

Yeah, I thought it was awesome news too.

Some of my more conspiracy minded friends are convinced it's a govt plot to do exactly that. The claim is that like fluoride in the water, they're testing it out for mind control purposes and will try to start a race riot in Hugo to see what the effects will be.

I had to calmly explain to them why race riots in Hugo or pretty much anywhere in Colorado, Utah or Idaho are unlikely to ever occur no matter the drugs in the water.

I would be interested to see them do a longitudinal study though on the rates of depression in that town after this. I vote that they leave it in. Probably double the tourist traffic from 4 to 8 people a month.

Colorado has places that have been known for having springs with restorative minerals (Glenwood Springs and Manitou Springs come to mind). Considering that marijuana is legal here and there is a whole industry of 420 tours which have spawned, I would be inclined to agree. I t could be like Ponce De Leon's Fountain of Youth which would drive tourism into a place where nobody would have gone otherwise.

The THC springs of Hugo with corporate sponsorship from Frito Lay.

ROFLMAO, you owe me a new keyboard.... Thanks, I needed that!

$4,21.... So close and yet so far.

Well maybe we can get this to $42.00 or $420, or $4,200.
I won't hold my breath though.
Incidentally, does anyone know where to get those colorado flag papers from?

Somehow went down to $3.33 still, not bad for a post about contaminated water.
I've been trying to figure out how to get from my place to Hugo and still be back by Monday.
Anyone else driving out that way from SoCal?

That's like the best contamination in the world... I wish I would've lived there haha.

Wow, 4 votes, but not a single reply? Come on guys. Someone get over there quick and bottle some of that bong water before it's too late!

Can anyone explain to me how the water would be contaminated if the THC itself is not water soluble?

No need to bottle the water... remember that stuff is legal. Any adult can go buy it at any local dispesary... Of course, that can be spendy, and you might just be thirsty...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40