The Perpetual Stoner is Back - Desktop Vaporizer Review - Xhale Evo vs. Volcano Part 1 of 2

in #marijuana7 years ago (edited)


bigpcheflogo1.jpg
@bigpchef back at it with his ganja happenings

New desktop vaporizer needed, but which one?

Hello my fellow stoned Steemians, Bigp here with another edition of The Perpetual Stoner. I needed a new vaporizer, and I literally have been thinking about which to buy for over a week now. I compared the two units in various fields, and decided to go with the one that gave me the best overall flavor. In nearly every other aspect they were similar enough to where the only thing really left for me to choose between was the unit's taste output. Below is what I compared, how I compared it, and my eventual decision on which item I ended up purchasing.

Vape Xhale Evo vs. Storz & Bickel Volcano Classic


vapexhale-cloud-evo.jpg

  • Convection Heating Element - circulates hot air through chamber that is controlled by user
  • Product compatibility - flower & concentrate
  • Made by Vape Xhale - fairly new company, seems to have good customer service, and presence in cannabis community
  • Warranty - 3 year limited
  • Taste - hot air warms product evenly and with a controlled temp, resulting in a smooth, FLAVORFUL taste quality
  • Portability - stands 8 in tall w/o a glass attachment, weighs a little under 2 lbs. Plug required
  • Price - Hydratube Starter Kit retail $449.00 plus shipping, tax

volcano-vaporizer-classic.jpg

  • Convection Heating Element - circulates hot air through chamber that is forced out by unit (not user controlled)
  • Product compatibility - flower & concentrate
  • Made by Storz & Bickel - 150 year old German medical device manufacturing company
  • Warranty - 3 year limited
  • Taste - hot air warms product, semi-evenly, with a controlled temp, resulting in a relatively smooth vapor quality, with a very herbal taste
  • Portability - stands 8 in tall w/o bag attachment, weighs 3.5 lbs. Plug required
  • Price - Volcano Classic with easy valve kit retail $479 plus tax (free shipping)

More pics, and included items


vapexhaleall.jpg
Seen here: power supply, Evo unit, dry herb baskets, vape concentrate x-nail, Hydratube glass attachment

volcanoall.jpg
Seen here: easy valve bag, and attachments, Volcano Classic unit, concentrate pads, cleaning brush, screen filters, piece of shit plastic grinder

Verdict

I have tried both units in the past. I actually used to own the Volcano, and loved it, but I sold it when moving to CA. Too clunky for travel. The Vape Xhale Evo I was able to try on my last trip to S.F. They had the unit set up in a dispensary for customers to try out. I used the machine for dry herbs, and holy wow. I think this is what weed is supposed to taste like. Don't get me wrong, the Volcano is an amazing product to vape dry herb. The two biggest issues I have with it though, are taste quality, and concentrate compatibility. As I mentioned above, the Volcano causes your herb to taste very natural; a grassy taste if you will. With the Evo I was able to taste so many terpene profiles - you can actually taste the purp. The other issue I have with the Volcano is the concentrate pad, it is just not built for vaping concentrates. The pad sucks up all the product, and causes wastage. The Evo comes with an actual nail that mimics any good quality dab rig.

If you haven't guessed already, I chose the Vape Xhale Evo. In my opinion the Evo is an updated, more modern version of the Volcano. I should be getting the unit sometime next week, and I will follow up with a full review. Thanks again for reading, Bigpchef signing off.



purpfig.jpg
Purple Fig - this is what I tried in the Evo

Bad ass logo provided by @kryptik
https://www.storz-bickel.com/tunnel/
https://vapexhale.com/

Sort:  

Thanks for the info. I might get an Evo. Upvoted

Seems to taste great. The picture is telling everything. Thanks for sharing this great content with us. But it would be nice if you share the weed also lol

dope man, looks tasty!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 3.57 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

A friend who went to a college nearby to mine had the original Volcano almost 20 years ago. They (he and roommates) loved it, but I remember a few times where they had to replace a bag and it was a bit of a ludicrous, two-person job to seat and seal it just right.

It looks like the unit you chose , in addition to the other benefits you mentioned, completely eliminates that aspect to the process, which was their #1 complaint - either drastically overpay for branded bags, or annoyingly seat your own. I also remember that crappy plastic grinder they had that came with it, but my brain seems to think it was orange back then.

Enjoyed this blast from the past, thanks.

What, a marijuana vape review that doesn't just worship the Volcano? This is a rare sight to behold. I hope I get a chance to vape with a XHale Evo, your description of the taste has my mouth watering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54