Canna Tuesdays- How I landed a job in the marijuana industry

in #marijuana7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemies,

remember how I mention in my introduction that I have a full time job, well.... as you might have noticed from the title, I work in the marijuana field. For me it is awesome!!

IMG_0631.jpg

The first time I tried recreation marijuana was after I graduated highschool and continued using it socially throughout med school.

All that time I always thought of marijuana as a bad drug that made me feel good. Everything changed after 4th year of med school when we started looking into pharmacology.

I was astonished at the amount of side effects mainstream pharma drugs had. That's when I started questioning, "but marijuana is only a plant?" how bad could it be?

Right there and then my interest for marijuana sparked. I am not going to deny that it was also an act of rebellion, because my Mom would be so against the plant yet she was okay with harsher chemical drugs or even alcohol. It just didn't make sense to me how people would see this plant as such bad drug.

After I quit med school, I was sure I wanted to continue my studies in natural medicine. To start I choose Nutrition, but then I continued my research on marijuana. That's when I learnt the difference between recreational and medical marijuana. I realized I needed to go the medical marijuana route.

I gave birth to my daughter and she was turning almost one year and a half and I was ready to start working again. I just wasn't convinced that Nutrition is the sole therapy I wanted to focus on. I then started thinking why not work in the marijuana field. I noticed with the new Prime Minister Justin Trudeau being elected Marijuana was becoming a popular topic. DOPE_JustinTrudeauFlickr-2.jpg
Picture Credit: http://www.truenorthtimes.ca/2014/08/20/marijuana-toke-toke-election/

Since the industry is just getting more accepted the possibilities are endless. So I started researching companies in the industry and applying to all of them. The point was to get into the industry, my main positions were cannabis educator, administrative work at a cannabis business or intern. I wanted to get experience.

I received my first offer and I jumped at the opportunity, if I had more time I would have waited to see some more options but that wasn't my situation. I got lucky, the company that called allows me to do a little bit of everything and it has given me the opportunity to introduce my self in the industry and learn.

I consider getting this job a perfect example of the law of attraction, which I believe in very much. My clear picture is myself educating people on the topic of marijuana, specially the medicinal part. I picture my self in front of a crowd or even schools talking about this topic and answering questions. That thought gave me a feeling of happiness and excitement, so the next step was to take action. So without fear and hesitation, I made a cover letter, honest and open cover letter and a resume with all my skills, experiences and qualifications. I just sent the resumes by email, usually info@... job@... [email protected] then forgot about it.

A few weeks later, a phone call, my present boss saying hey come in and let's see what we can do. The job is great, flexible, fair pay but the freedom to grow immensely with dedication and innovation everything is possible. So I say again, it's a perfect example of the law of attraction because I am living a dream that I had and continue to have, it makes me feel happy and I take action upon it to make it happen.

Now almost a year working in the industry, the knowledge I have gained and the connections are something so positive I didn't even think about before. I get the odd call from other companies with great offers, but where I work now, is also the people I work with. This job is what it is because of them and I can't replace them. We are all growing in the industry and I think I found my gangapreneur tribe. Like I said I was lucky and I am so GRATEFUL for this experience and opportunities.

If you feel like doing something like this but are afraid, ask yourself, why are you afraid? The "NO" you already got if you don't even try, so just do it. Doors will open up and if they don't, it means it was not meant for you and you get the experience for the job that is right for You!
IMG_0634.jpg

By the way the necklace I am wearing in this pic is the THC molecule, thought it was cool:P

Sort:  

One must live in the moment, to expect the past.

I like your content, keep it coming. Also, fun fact: melophobia is the fear of music, haha:D

Great how you explain your thoughts and the different steps it took to get there. I feel so positive after reading and want to do something I really like by using your advice. We are working in a similar field. I show people the coffeeshops in Amsterdam as a guide and of course tell everyoneI meet how he can benefit from it. I have all my knowledge from books and Internet and never visited a school.

Thank you, keep doing what you are doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22