I never smoked crack or snorted cocaine, but I've smoked a few trash bags of Marijuana

in #marijuana8 years ago

I think drug addiction is one of the greatest destroyers of mankind. I can think of several people in my personal life that have gone the way of hard drugs.

Source

Just recently, I have seen a dear friend lose her manager job and lose the custody of her three children, because of a methamphetamine and heroin addiction. Before the Methamphetamine and heroin addiction, she was a serious pill popper, but she was able to hold onto her high paying job, but once she she started using Methamphetamine, she lost complete control of her life.

Back in the mid 80s when I was introduced to drugs, it was cans of beer and bowls of Marijuana. I knew about the other drugs, but I was never introduced to cocaine or meth. I never saw a bag of heroin, but bags of Marijuana were everywhere.

Source

To be honest, I don't consider marijuana a drug, but almost a medicine. I loved smoking marijuana as a teenager and throughout my twenties, but it never led me down a road of hard drugs. So when I hear the words, "gateway drug", I never could agree with that.

Not once during all my marijuana smoking years, did I ever crave a line a cocaine or a hit off a crack pipe.

Source

I know a lot has to do with personality and personal belief or personal perception of what a drug is, but not once did I desire to lose control of my life with hard drugs. That's probably why I was never intoduced to anything more the marijuana, because I didn't desire to have anything more than the awesome high from some quality weed.

Source

It has been years since I've smoked Marijuana, but I'm sure I will smoke it again. If I was able to go to #steemfest in Amsterdam, I'm sure I would of found my way to local cafe to smoke some skunk weed. I'm @runridefly, and I drink beer on occasion, but I would rather smoke a well rolled joint. Thank you for reading my story.

Sort:  

War on drugs is bullshit! Come out of the matrix MAN, I'll be your morpheous!

Steem on!

Lasse

I don't think he was promoting the war on drugs with this post, more that he was making an observation that marijuana is in a class of its own ;)

The war on drugs is a war on the people.

Nice, @runridefly. Drugs are problem in whole world, i've been there very long time ago. I never took heroin, but everything else i did! now, #onlynatural

@dumar022, drugs are really bad around here. Heroin is cheap and methamphetamine is everywhere. So glad I never tried any of that. I'm so glad you're all natural now. Steem on my friend.

Nice I never did drugs as a kid I wanted to go into the military so I stayed away from them. Later on jobs i did would not hire drug users so I never had a chance to even try marijuana. But your right I do not see marijuana as a gateway drug.

@smysullivan, another reason why never touched hard stuff is because i was into extreme endurance sports. I ran and cycled for hours a day. No room for crazy drug lifestyle. Thank you for the comment

Dutch drug laws and strict enforcement made sure that you can't buy any other drugs in places where you can buy marihuana. This works, and has also proven that the idea of a "gateway drug" is nonsense. When a drug dealer sells hard drugs as well, some people may be tempted, but that has nothing to do with marihuana itself.
Ironically, in The Netherlands, where marihuana use and possession isn't prosecuted, marihuana use is far lower than in the USA.

@ocrdu, always thought all drugs should be legalized. Laws against create more desire for them it seems. Thank you for the comment.

I was just about to compliment you on your rolling skills, then I saw "source".....lol

Laughing here. @rigaronib, when I saw that image I wanted it. That is some serious rolling skill...they call the guy cone.

It's just so....for a lack of appropriate manly words, pretty! Haha

I don't like smoke pot, but I think the flowers are so beautiful!!




@garvofe, they are so beautiful. I think the 4th plant is absolutely amazing. Super weed!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi there @runridefly! I'm new to this incredible site and it's so much fun discovering people! I would have followed you based on the "deep inside the rabbit hole" in your description, (I spend a lot of time there myself hee hee) but this is a great post and I'll be checking out more from you!

@dreemit, i guess you like to steemit. Thank you so much for the follow. We will steem on together.

Yes we will my friend! Thanks for upvoting my brother's song, hope to have him steeming with us soon!

China just gives them a fine for first offenses, next offense includes some education; next offense is six months jail . . .

The six months is to clean out your system and help you overcome the effects of these poisons. It is primarily up the you how you recover from your addiction in China...

Next conviction is the hangmans rope until you are dead ! ! !

Kool thing in China, when you die you are never really dead. Their culture says you can return, there are businesses over in China is to dig up your deceased relatives every twenty years and rebury them.

Obviously if you cannot afford to pay the yearly leasing fees they evict your deceased relatives before the end of the twenty year burial contract expires...

Seriously; Google it...

Expert: Burial plot lease rule too stingy - China Daily
www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2011-04/05/content_12273934.htm
Apr 5, 2011 - As the years dividing successive generations of Chinese become more and ... to own cemetery plots should be extended, says a funeral expert.
Expert: Burial plot lease rule too stingy - News @ AsiaOne
news.asiaone.com › ASIAONE › NEWS
Apr 5, 2011 - Qiao Kuanyuan, from the China Funeral Association, made the ... that legal ownership of cemetery spaces should expire after 20 years.
Deceased Chinese can only rest in peace for 20 years; cemetery ...
www.ministryoftofu.com/.../deceased-chinese-can-only-rest-in-peace-for-20-years-ce...
Apr 4, 2011 - Deceased Chinese can only rest in peace for 20 years; cemetery policy ... 20 years later when the lease expires, fees are incurred in ...
Ministry of Civil Affairs: Burial Plots Not Private Property - China Real ...
blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/.../ministry-of-civil-affairs-burial-plots-not-private-prope...
Apr 4, 2011 - Call it cemetery management with Chinese characteristics. ... weekend that families of the deceased do not hold property rights over grave sites ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67