Rosin Tech (solventless dabs)

in #marijuana8 years ago (edited)

Have you heard of "rosin" tech?

So you've probably heard of shatter, wax, budder, etc. These are all variations of oil that have been processed in different ways, usually with chemicals like butane or isopropanol. Well, rosin gets you the results without the chemicals. "Dabbing" is the process of smoking concentrated cannabis.

It's a pretty simple process, really. I laugh about it because it's something I've always had the means to do, if only I knew.

What do you need?
A hair straightener. Such as:
Parchment paper. Like this one:
Cannabis, ideally dense buds with some moisture to them. Any strain will do.

That's it.

You're going to take a small but full bud of cannabis, ideally weighing in the area of about .3. Breaking up buds will destroy your yield. Take a small sheet of parchment paper and fold it. Put the bud in between the folds of the parchment paper. Turn the straightener on. I use the lowest setting, but there is a lot of feedback that suggests it depends on the strain and the moisture content. Now you squish the bud that is held between the two folds of the parchment paper, applying as much pressure as you can. Holding for about 12 - 15 seconds. You should hear some sizzling, that's normal. After the time has passed you open the paper and find something like this:

If you're looking for a way to make a small amount of "shatter" to try out a "dab", this is the way. If you want to try this on a larger scale, check out something like this.

This is just a quick explanation, very basic. There isn't much to it really, but the temperatures, weights, and everything in between are all going to be different every time. Even the same strain will sometimes give different results. I recommend researching on YouTube or asking questions below and I will do my best to get you accurate answers.

Sort:  

Kush all day everyday :)

Until you squish some gold out of it and smoke the purest kush you've ever smoked.

I love a good kush, don't get me wrong, but why smoke paper if I don't have to? Why even smoke plant matter? This has me smoking basically pure THC.

I've smoked rosin regularly since Soilgrown first showed it off on Instagram. I find the yield to be around 1 gram of concentrate to every ~7 grams of cannabis. When doing BHO runs I get anywhere from 3 - 5 grams per oz. When doing shatter it's usually around 4. Wax, honeycomb, same. Oil is usually above 5. Properly extracted closed loop BHO can get upwards of 7 or 8. Those machines cost a lot of money though.

Check out Soilgrown on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/soilgrown_solventless/?hl=en

That's awesome bro, I'm so down to try other forms of it, I tried dabs before, but I'm definitely open minded. Great brother :)

I wish I could upvote this a thousand times!! I only smoke live resin, preferably Moxie 710, but I am trying this ASAP.

Let me know how it turns out for you.

Congratulations @perryl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65