You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Strain: Teslin, Indica, 19.5% THC, Decarbing to Make MTC Coconut Oil Tincture (Part 1: The Decarb)

in #marijuana7 years ago

I actually have one of those containers. They are great! My question is if I could use a normal mason jar with the lid a tiny bit loose, like normal canning. Excited to try this out.

Sort:  

So here's the issue with mason jars @kingofkong...if they're old, you run the risk of the glass breaking under the heat and pressure. When I tried this method of decarbing for the first time, I went to a local store in my area and splurged on a tempered glass sealer jar, which cost approximately $10. I used it instead of a regular mason jar, and it worked just fine, but I was still nervous that the glass might break and I'd ruin an ounce of pot with shattered glass strewn through it. So, I sourced this stainless steel container off the internet and it's what I use now. The smell is less and it equally decarbs all the buds evenly.

Thanks for your reply! I used to decarb by mixing in butter and bringing to a simmer for about 45 minutes. This method seems to be less messy and there will be less lost material. Excited to try it out and I appreciate the info :)

Ok, this is important to note. With at home, decarbing, the absolute best case senario is to decarb for THC at 240 degrees F...whether you bake your buds in a covered casserole dish in your oven or you pressure cook it on your stove top. You have to get the buds to 240 degrees and when you do, you'll activate about 46% of the available medicine. Once you infuse another medium with the activated cannabis, save the left over cannabis pulp by using a fine mesh strainer. This plant material is still highly active and I usually bake this left-over pulp right into a baking recipe, like cookies. Never throw the pulp away...lots of people think that it's spent but it's not. They only exception would be if someone has made shatter with a solvent like butane. Throw that out because it will have solvent residue in it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48