Cannabis Spa for Grandma: Winning Hearts and Minds for Marijuana This Election Season

in #marijuana8 years ago (edited)

I discovered steemit on some of the liberty blogs and sites that I visit and being a liberty-minded person I thought that this would be a great way to introduce myself and my book. Thanks for the lovely reception of my first post here and all of the upvotes! 

I don't post a lot of political content. I find that people generally want me to shut up and post my lotions and recipes instead. ;) I think there can be a case made for doing both today for my first and probably last political post on steemit because I really, really, want to see the ballot measures for cannabis legalization and medical use that are in more than a half-dozen states this election season, pass. 

Senior citizens vote. Early and often. And seniors, along with a goody number of rehab, government, and law enforcement folk are our most formidable opposition when it comes to doing away with illegal plant laws. 

Those receiving a paycheck for opposing us are very attached to their entitlement--we have very little chance of convincing them that their services are not needed. But for those who are opposed due to the misinformation circulated for decades by the entitled ones there is an opportunity for us to win hearts and minds. 

After my book was published last October, I started receiving a lot of email about it and my recipes. But the most astonishing email I receive comes from people who have written to tell me about how their grandparents who grew up and raised children under the most draconian eras of the drug war and would never dream of smoking pot, fell head over heels in love with cannabis lotion or salve after a granddaughter or grandson brought some home, sometimes illegally, from a legal state for them. (I don't suggest that you break the law, of course!)

Last week I received one of these emails and was delighted to read how one grandson gave his grandma a copy of my book, and now his grandma wants to go on vacation with him and his 420bro pals to Colorado and try out the cannabis massages and other spa offerings available in that state. "She's hooked," he told me. "But, she doesn't want to get high," he continued. "My grandma is voting for medical marijuana this November and she's always been against it. Thank you for your book, but I don't think my friends want her to ride in the car with us to Denver next month, lol!" 

Seniors consume more prescription drugs than any other demographic. It's the only option that has been available to them up until now. Cannabis has been shown to be safer than alcohol and many of the prescription drugs that seniors rely on for pain management. Your grandma may be afraid of 'getting high on pot,' but she will ride all the way to Denver with you and your crew for that weed lotion if you'll let her. Your grandma is voting YES for cannabis this election season, and that means we are going to win! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30