You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cannabis How-To Tips: Growing in Cornfields

in #marijuana8 years ago

I can agree to disagree with what you have said, but I really take issue with this statement:

it's in their nature. As far as roots are concerned, that's a complete non-issue.

Root rot and root-bound crops are perhaps the most common problem you'll see when competing with surrounding crops, especially corn as it is so densely seeded together. I've even seen it with tomatoes, which also have a deep root system, and incurred some very observable growth variations from moderate to outright severe as it also a heavy feeder.

I was limited to fast growing sativa dominant hybrids and couldn't cultivate any tropical Sat/Ind due to the environment/elevation I was growing in; however, I will accept that I could be wrong in that my sample size/data was not entirely inclusive and didn't take this into account. I wish I could get m hands on some Ruderalis genetics from E. Europe, but nothing came up despite my best attempts.

I still think you're playing Russian roulette in terms of contamination from pesticides and fertilizers growing inside of a cornfield. Cross winds from adjacent fields travel far, I was sprayed on with sulfur from vineyards a 1/2 mile away on windy day and had a wheezing cough, headaches and nausea for 2 weeks.

Pesticides are atomized liquids and can't travel as far as powder/dust, but its still a huge issue and cause for a ton of disputes/lawsuits between organic vs conventional farms.

I'm not a 'snob' by any means, and I like to see other people's methods, if only to contrast them to my own observations and data and enhance my outview; I just think that cannabis is and always played a vital role in agriculture as a soil re-mediator, and was likely first and foremost introduced for crop rotation to enhance soil fertility, and when it is used to further erode soil its akin to seeing someone use a fine piece of hand-made furniture for kindling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44