You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Leaving Marijuana Nationally Illegal Is A Good Thing FOR NOW (Trust Sessions)

in #marijuana6 years ago

Definitely not a JS fan, but this makes sense. Another reason I considered was the connection to Big Pharma. Medical and legal pot, in the hands of corrupt industries, turns into something sinister. Who would trust "Pot" brought to you by Proctor & Gamble, "Marijuana" by Monsanto?

Sort:  

that is also a good point. The idea of Monsanto getting into it makes me shudder. awful. Best to keep them out, and the only really effective way to do that would be the current situation-- legal in some places, but not legal enough for the Big Un's to risk.

Well... Monsanto could get into the industry if they want it. Kinda like how some guns are banned in California but not others. I wouldn't be surprised if Monsanto already has subsidiaries in each state growing pot.

From what I've heard about the retail sector of pot, the pot shops that are in good with the local government will send cops to harass customers smoking outdoors around competing shops. That was one of the reasons why I never moved to Portland. I wasn't in good with the community enough to assure I wasn't gonna get pushed out. Plus, Oregon also evoked Colorado's policy of requiring two years of residency in order to even apply for a permit to handle cannabis. Gold rush prevention policy.

I agree with you Beanster. There's no doubt in my mind that Big Pharma has had their hand in this in modern days considering the original pot ban was pushed by the lumber industry. I also heard in a recent Joe Rogan podcast that Henry Ford's earlier prototypes used hemp to make body panels, which now leads me to believe that Andrew Carnegie also had a hand in the pot ban.

I think I wrote this though b'cuz it's a noble explanation that's often overlooked. I don't always agree with the government but I don't think they're all bad either. Plus, it's not like the rest of the country isn't gonna be able to get a hold of some pot =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40