You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Union With the Empty Set - March Madness!!!! Day 23 - Prompt: Union

in #marchmadness5 years ago

Love love love this installment! Sassy Super Smart Kris, putting folks in their places and getting stuff done.
Love the math! Although does every set contain null as a member? Is nothing something? I love thinking like this so especially thank you for putting that in there.
#mmfan

Sort:  

LOL! Now you've got "something from nothing leaves nothing" on my mind. Stevie Wonder. Does every set contain a null. You're my kind of reader!!

If null is an element of every set, then Kris' solution to the problem is correct. If not, and nothing is something, she's incorrect.
This is how I spend my afternoons, pondering the imponderable. Nice to have you along for the ride!
Why do you know so much set theory?

It's not taught in any of the high schools my kids went to, but it should have been if you ask me.

I was a math freak in college, would spend Saturday nights in the math lounge standing at a blackboard with a few other math freaks.

You were a math freak? Oh my. I love math but never could get a hand on it. I struggled mightily to achieve a "C" in Algebra. Trigonometry, sine and cosine, tangent and cosecant, are words that haunt me decades later. I wanted to understand! My classmates got it! I just couldn't. We did cover set theory in h.s. in the late 1970s, but that doesn't mean I understood any of it. I just google everything now and wing it. :) Like string theory OMG does anyone really get that?????

lol! You did great then. I was a physics/math major in college and I can tell you that I did not understand string theory one bit.

30+ years ago, I bought this awesome book titled Einstein's Universe and Van Gogh's Sky but gave it away because it was so far over my head. I did love Hawkings' Brief History of Time and Dawkins is readable, but Kapra and anything Physics blows my neural circiutry. I feel like Salieri in the movie Amadeus - the desire is there but the talent is not. A lot of physics people tell me they don't get string theory either, so there's that. But anyone who "gets" physics at all is a genius in my book. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70