You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BREAKING: GREATEST UPSET EVER?!? A 16 JUST TOOK DOWN A 1!

in #marchmadness6 years ago

I believe the coach did not make necessary adjustments and lost the game by playing the odds, with the expectation that the Retrievers would stop hitting the 3 pointers.
I checked the first half with little concern and the 21-21 low scoring half was a bit of a surprise... (Why so low?).
But, I moved on to other games. I was on the road during the second half and I was in shock. I managed to get the second half recorded at home.
As I listened on the radio to the second half, I couldn't understand how/why what was happening. I only understood after saw the Retriever team.
The Cavaliers seemed to be content allowing the Retrievers to consistently hold the ball and run down the clock. This patience forced a low scoring game and limited the possible shots by the Cavaliers. It also allowed the Retrievers to get the best open 3 point shot.
Also, if the Cavaliers opened the defense out to the 3 point range, the Retrievers would take it to the hoop with their 'relatively' short guard.
It was a perfect game plan for the Retrievers and the Cavaliers lost because they refused to adjust.
That's just my opinion....

Sort:  

I agree that Virginia did not do a good job at all of making adjustments. Clearly, whatever they discussed at halftime back-fired, and they didn't make any adjustments in the second half as UMBC was tearing them up. Virginia actually likes that excruitatingly slow pace of play, that usually plays to their strengths, but they weren't hitting their shots either. UMBC was able to run a bit on them in the second half and you're right their 3-point defense just wasn't good in this one. But I agree - good gameplan and execution by the Retrievers and lack of adjustments by UVA was the difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60681.54
ETH 3358.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49