Marching band in college? Pep band?

in #marchingband7 years ago

Marching Band in College?🎺

As a high school senior trombone player, I'm preparing for college and considering if joining the marching band is worth it. I've had many experiences that I'll never forget throughout high school marching band, but part of me feels it will become a big commitment and distract me from more important studies.


Instead of marching band, I've been contemplating on joining the pep band. I know many colleges offer money for the service provided and there is no bulky, mandatory attire. I'm thinking this will be more down my alley because of the potential to make connections with other band members while not feeling so obligated to show up at every rehearsal.


To sum up, I'm wondering what you think! Do you think marching band and pep band are worth it? Is there anyone with experience in these fields? Give me a reply - I'd appreciate it! Thanks :D.

-Kyle

Sort:  

I would recommend you do it for the first year. Marching band is all about music and community of some of the finest citizens at your school. Rest assured that the people you meet already have a good sense of dicipline, a love of music, and have already taken many of the classes you will need to take. You will have friends before the school year begins and there is no measure for how much this will help as you enter an entirely new learning and social environment of the greater student body.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46