Last DAYS in Marbella 8-15-2017

in #marbella7 years ago (edited)

This is how my last days were spent in Marbella when we weren't out dancing until 6am. Then we will move on to my last nights in the next blog.
Marbella is a beach town, a beautiful beach town. Therefore we spent every day on the beach.
We woke up in the morning usually between 11:30-12:00.
We ate breakfast, same thing everyday, a sandwich with jamon (ham) and olive oil. Occasionally I added some cheese to mine, but Maria always ate hers the same way.
After we ate, we didn't even have to ask one another if we wanted to go to the beach. We just knew that is exactly what we were gonna do. We put on our bikinis and that 30 SPF, and we would leave for the beach.

Normally we would meet up with her friends or cousins there.
I promise you, Maria doesn't know anyone that is unattractive. I guess Spanish people just have good genes. Plus they aren't fat like Americans. 😂
But seriously though.

Carmen is one of Maria's cousin that I have met on previous trips to Spain, but Carmen's brother on the other hand, I just met him this trip! 😋😏😎 I am honestly so glad I did. He is so nice, and talked slow and clear in Spanish like Maria did because he knew I had trouble understanding. Overall he seems like a really awesome guy, and he is super guapo. Honestly I just enjoyed looking at him, especially when he was smiling and acting goofy.👌👌
We would usually have a pretty big group on the beach, like maybe up to 8 people. On occasion, it would just be us and Carmen.

I spent most my time reading or writing on the beach.
I finish one book called Find Her by Lisa Gardner. It was a pretty intense book.
After finishing that book, I moved on to another. It was actually a book, I picked up at a garage sale for a quarter. I figured it was about time to read it. It was written by a sex therapist and an interesting read to say the least.
I also spent time writing in my journal, future blogs about Peru. Eventually I will start uploading them, but I have a lot of other writing to do. I am really going to try to post a blog, at least every other day.
This will be hard, because nursing school starts in less than a week.
But goals. At least I have goals.

​It was pretty hot some days on the beach.
Some days we would swim more than others.
The water was cold, but felt great after tanning our bodies and sweating our asses off.
Once or twice a day, we would swim all the way out to the buoy. I do not know why we did this. It was fun and good exercise.
One day during high tide, I couldn't even make it all the way to the buoy. The waves kept crashing on my head and throwing me around. I became very exhausted and struggled to even make it back to the beach. My whole body was aching and my head was pounding. I probably should've turned back sooner than I did.
Speaking of high tides, my host family has boogie boards. It was awesome. One time the whole family was out on the beach, riding the waves onto the shore. It was tiring, but we pushed through and spent a good hour, maybe longer conquering those waves.
Big waves was not the only thing that high tide brought. The medusas (the Spanish word for jellyfish) seemed to enjoy riding the waves at well. We only spotted a few, but I wasn't trying to have someone piss on me after getting stung. So you had to be careful.

Three o'clock was about the time we would leave the beach for the pool.
The pool was the shape of a fidget spinner, literally. One of the lobes was roped off as the kiddie pool. The pool was surround with grass and straw umbrellas.
Jumping in the pool after being at the beach all day felt cleansing. It wasn't as refreshing as the freezing waters of the ocean. The pool was pretty warm from the sun.
After a dip in the pool and maybe a few rounds of cards, we would head to the house for lunch.
Which by the way! Cards are totally different in Spain, like the actual deck. The suits are swords, cups, coins, and clubs (as in bats). They also don't have the American standard of 52 cards. Their cards only count from 1-12. However many of the games we played were similar to US games. For example, CULO (which means ass in Spanish) is the Spanish equivalent of Presidents and Assholes.

Back at the house, Maria's sisters and parents would also make their way from the beach. Everyone changes into to dry swimsuits, and we all help prepare for lunch.
I would say lunch is the bigger meal of the day in Spain.
Maria's parents would cook, and we would do the dishes and set the table.
We snacked on olives before every meal.
The food was always delicious, but I will also consume anything edible, so I'm easy to please.
They eat bread with every meal in Spain. Usually fresh from the bakery. It was delicious. We also drank red wine with every meal, my favorite. 😍
After every meal, they would bring out all kinds of fresh fruit, and we would all eat fruit. Things like melon, figs, papaya (my favorite), cherries, and more. All of it was so fresh.
When the meal was over, tabled cleaned up, and dishes were done, I would usually have a cup of coffee with Maria's dad. European coffee is very strong, and it is drank in smaller quantities. You probably won't find your typical American Venti size here.

After lunch, it was time for a short siesta before heading back to the beach. We would do the same in the evening as earlier in the day. Beach, pool, cards, and sometimes we would visit pool bar for a cerveza before heading back to the house for dinner around 9pm. We would shower before dinner. After dinner, we would either go back to the pool bar for drinks and more cards until 3am, or we would go out to other bars and/or clubs. So there you have it. Typical day in Marbella right there. 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40