61 Days of Marathon Training To Go . . .

in #marathon5 years ago

Last Monday I ran the Victory Labor Day 10K, and since my wife was running the 5K, I chose to do a double header (10K + 5K) instead of just waiting around for the 5K race to get done.

My previous 10K PR was 50:13, and I guessed I could hit 48:00 after all of my training, especially since my training app was predicting 47:30. But I surprised myself and proved the app wrong. I hit 45:55, more than 4:00 better than my previous best.

Not only that, but while running the 10K I set a new 5K PR: 22:18, a new 5-mile PR: 36:57, and ran my fastest mile: 6:57, since surgery. I completed the double header in just over 1:10:00, which was 3rd best in my age group.

Yeah, that's all proof that my training is paying off. I can run 9.3 miles in under an 8:00 pace. Thinking I might be able to keep that up for a 1/2 marathon. My app is predicting I can hit 1:45:00.

2019-09-02 09.05.06.png

Visit my webpage to learn more about my story (from cardiac arrest followed by a cancer diagnosis to a hopeful marathon runner) and upcoming events.
http://www.airplanearms.com/

Scan to visit my donation page with Fred's Team.
FredsTeamQR.jpg

Sort:  

Great goal and work out ! Keep it up !

Omg! Congratulations! Outstanding results.
Man, you have better legs than you think.

Yeah, I surprised myself with the times I ran that day.

Congratulations @wmbakester! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67708.83
ETH 3801.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48