The road to Gold Coast Marathon 2018

in #marathon7 years ago

I like to challenge myself. Most of the time physically, sometimes mentally & emotionally. Late last year I decided I would run my first marathon in 2018. So what, you may be saying....

10 years ago I was told I would never run again thanks to an injury. But I steadily increased my running load by walking and jogging 3km, then 5km, then 8km....you get the idea.

I have now run 3 half marathons in events, and 3 or 4 more in training. My longest run to date is 24km.

I'm running about 42 km a week in training at the moment. Although my travel load for work makes it challenging at times.

Why do I want to run a marathon? I think it's because it's something I never thought I would be able to do. So to overcome that challenge is a physical and mental battle. I was a competitive swimmer in my younger days, so my aerobic fitness is good, but it has been interesting developing running legs.

Oh, I'm also 40 years old, and currently 98kg. I was 103kg when I started this adventure.

My plan is to post semi-regularly on Steemit about my progress and journey.

I have completed 150km for the month of January. Wish me luck!

Does anyone have any tips for training?

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42