You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An International Spotlight : A Look At Pre-Modern Maps And How The World Was Divided

in #maps8 years ago

Another fascinating post. I really enjoyed the images too. The Hereford Mappa Mundi is beautiful.

I never realised there were so many different types.

I suppose the intinerary maps are like the ones you get when you go to tourist locations like DisneyWorld.

This was because, until at least the 13th century, most Europeans believed it was impossible to pass through this central hot zone without dying.

I've never heard of that before. It's so weird although not more weird than thinking you would fall off the edge of a flat earth.

Anyway thanks for educating us with this series. This is really fantastic work and I suspect it took both of you a very long time to put it together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55