Where do you live?

in #maps6 years ago (edited)

I bought a map to my office and want to mark up my friends from steemit.
So - where do you live? Country and/or city.

I am from Sweden and the city Gävle

@onefatindian the fat one
@minhaz007 the first one
@poyim the one and only
@Oleg with a lot of numbers
@prince121 who are you
@simplymike not so simply

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Haha, this is a fun comments thread to read. Sometimes I tend to forget how global SteemIt is.

I had no idea you were European, just like I didn't know (or didn't remember) @sparkesy43 is Australian.

I won't narrow it down too much, because you would never find it on your map ;0)
I live in Antwerp in Belgium

Posted using Partiko Android

Antwerp - famous for skiing. And my city is famous for a goat.
Hrmmmm I think goat is better 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Famous for skiing??? Hahaha, I wish...

Posted using Partiko Android

That is the Only thing I know about that city. But maybe I am thinking of a city with similar name

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL: I checked your city at wiki now. Now skiing at all... I wonder where I have heard that cityname before. Maybe in some famous history. I am a historyteacher but not working with that anymore

If Flensburg, Germany is on there you can mark me there

Posted using Partiko iOS

Closest so far

Posted using Partiko Android

Cape Town, South Africa for me please! @brittandjosie looks like your map idea has caught on

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, id this map thing an idea gone viral? Then I should definitely make one. :0)
It's fun to find where everybody's at...

Posted using Partiko Android

I do not know but it will be pretty nice at my office

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it seems to be, would be cool to do a digital one too like just pull in user names and their locations from theirs steemit profile so we see which counties and cities have the most steemians

Posted using Partiko iOS

Can you build one?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I could if @paulag could help me out with the data sources I could create a dashboard for it pretty easily

I looked at this before and too many people put in things like the world and the universe and the blockchain and other random stuff to get a clear picture. The data is dirty. Although now that the active numbers are lower, I could try run it again and see if it makes more sense.

I’ve noticed that too, many people aren’t using the location field correctly but if you could just provide a data dump CSV of usernames and the field I’d be happy to clean it up and create a dashboard with the data

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe I will make an easy small version just for my friends. Will test some in Google Maps

of all 1m+ accounts or just the active accounts for the last month or two?

Maybe it is possible with Google Maps and some kind of databas

Posted using Partiko Android

Using google maps would be a little more complicated setting up that API is a pain

Maybe it is more Easy with just a databas with searchfunction like Office access

Posted using Partiko Android

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Love australia. My wife has a friend in perth

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm assuming you mean Perth, Western Australia - though there is also a very small town in Tasmania also called Perth

Yes . In west.
I just looking at my worldmap and maybe you are (so far) the one living most far away.

Great idea!!

Scratch off a HUGE area for Toronto, Ontario, Canada, as this is where I live.

Merry Xmas to you, @minishark, all your other loved ones, and everyone else on this post! Hehe

Ho ho ho,
OFI

Posted using Partiko Android

Mats Sundin - He played in Toronto.
I will see if I can find that fat town at my map.
I think you have more people in Toronto than we have in my whole country

I think you have more people in Toronto than we have in my whole country

Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

and iam from India .' Allahabad'

That is faaaaaaaaar away from me

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that's true ..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @minimining!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.776 which ranks you at #12749 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 12746).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 261 contributions, your post is ranked at #213.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 10.97% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

I am from Dhaka, Bangladesh 🇧🇩🇧🇩🇧🇩

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a pretty big city right?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes big city with 2crore+ peoples.
Much people here, that's the main problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

2crore???

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76