You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "They are terrified of the future."

in #manna6 years ago

I certainly believe that UBI is going to be a major part of the future. There are still a lot of people who point to studies that suggest "job growth" will continue and there will be "more jobs than ever" by 2040.

I'm not seeing it, though... I have a retail store and listen to hundreds of people talk "at street level" and I seem to encounter far more people who were laid off and lost jobs... and have poor prospects because the total number of jobs in their field is 20% down from 20 years ago.

Then again, maybe a lot of those studies are from governments, afraid that the population would freak out if the reports suggested a prolonged decline in jobs.

Sort:  

Even where people retain jobs they are doing more. I was a manager in a global company, 20 years ago I would have had a PA to do all the dull paperwork like booking travel, doing my expenses, filtering my mail, typing letters etc. Now you do all that yourself, its all provided through easy to use technology, that you can do yourself on the move.
The problem seems to be that not only is that full tome PA job gone, but as a manager I'm fulfilling parts of other roles too, and much of it out of hours meaning I was working significant unpaid overtime. Then there is the mental exertion of switching through so many various tasks. So technology has allowed business to load up a few people with ever higher loads of more complex tasks.
The concept of the full working week needs to be adjusted, so that more people each do less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53