Manga Monthly Read - August

in #manga6 years ago (edited)

For this I am just going to give what I have read last month starting with currently reading and then ending with completed or dropped, if any.

Chapters 1 - 3 of Ore dake Haireru Kakushi Dungeon: Kossori Kitaete Sekai Saikyou.

Pretty fucking average, but that's not bad. The main character fails at becoming a worker at the library, so he goes to a dungeon to find out how to become strong so he can fight instead. What he finds there is a woman who grants him three overpowered abilites. One of which lets him create abilities. This drains his body, and if he drains it too much, he will die. So in order to avoid that, he must do lewd things with women. That's really all I can say, and it sums up the story pretty well.

Chapters 20 - 21 of Ijiranaide, Nagatoro-san.

It's got the same premise as Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san, girl constantly teases boy. At the beginning I didn't like it, as the girl seemed much more mean and antagonistic, but as it went on for a few more chapters, she started to show a more dere side to her, so to speak. I don't find it as cute as Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san, but it's cute either way.

Chapters 15.5 - 16.1 of Siscon Ani to Brocon Imouto.

This one I'm not really a fan of, but it's not atrocious. I'm not opposed to incest series, as a matter of fact, I love them. But this series seems to overdo the side/filler chapters and it makes the numbering look like shit. Not to mention these chapters aren't really chapters, they're usually one page, sometimes two or three, but they're not much at all. They might as well come with the normal chapter every translation, as like an after-chapter humour page.

Chapters 19 - 20 of Sewayaki Kitsune no Senko-san.

Being taken care of by an old foxgirl loli, getting to stroke her tail and use it as a pillow. That is the life of the main character of this story. It's fun and heartwarming.

Chapters 44 - 52 of Kanojo, Okarishimasu (will be 53 after I am done with this post)

This series gets a lot of hate. And I understand, the main character lies, and you could say he manipulates one of the girls by dating her while he doesn't love her. But really, she forced him to do so, she blackmailed him, didn't care about his feelings or opinions on the matter. I just wish the main character wasn't such a pussy and just confessed to the female protagonist.

Summary of the story: Main character gets broken up with and is depressed so he goes to a site and hires a rental girlfriend, whom come to find out, goes to his school, and more than that, is his neighbor. Ends up having to lie to his friends and family that they truly are going out and the lies spiraled out of control, thus far.

Chapter 20 of Jahy-sama wa Kujikenai!

I might drop this one, I've been growing more and more bored of the series, and I've already dropped it once. Basically the demon world was destroyed by a magical girl and the main character, 2nd top ranked demon lord girl, along with all other demons are put into the human world, where they must collect gems to bring their own world back. The main girl, alone in her apartment, begins working at a cafe while on her search for gems. Not sure why I don't like it, but I really don't.

Chapter 1 - 9 of Yari no Yuusha no Yarinaoshi.

I honestly wish the normal manga (translation-wise) was caught up to the point in this series to where the Spear Hero's personality makes sense. A regular reader of the manga, who has never read or seen anything else of the series will not understand why he's calling the Shield Hero "father" or why he's such a big fan of filorial or why he sees women as pigs.

Of course, after a bit of reading, they will kinda understand, except the part with filorial and maybe him calling Shieldbro father, but it really doesn't do non-novel readers a service. Oh well, not that it can be helped, the translator is slow as fuck.

Chapters 85 - 86 of Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san.

One of the best manga I've read so far. The main character just cannot catch a break, just when he thinks he has her in the palm of his hands, she always comes out on top. I've seen criticisms of this in the comments on mangadex, that she's a mary sue. But why would you complain about a villain being too strong, when that just means the MC has to work harder and smarter to become better in order to accomplish his task of defeating the demon king? Or in this case, teasing the teasing master.

Chapters 11 - 12 of Seirei Gensouki.

I enjoy this series a lot, though I enjoy a lot of Isekai series so it doesn't say much. It is rather generic, I admit. But genericism isn't always bad, and I would say this is one of those times.

Chapter 9 of Koi wa Hikari.

Main character has a curse, or maybe it's a blessing. The ability to see sparkles around those who are in love, these sparkles indicate whom they are attracted to, by going in the direction of said person. Great, so he can easily find out who loves him. Who wouldn't want something like that, it would be handy. But here's where the issue lies. It doesn't work on him, those who love him do not sparkle.

It's a great series so far and I am always excited to read the next chapter. Too bad it's a slowly updated series.

Chapter 1 of Kitaku Tochuu De Yome To Musume Ga Dekita N Dakedo, Dragon Datta.

Already felt that this might be a boring series on chapter one. I suppose it's got an all right premise, but I'll have to see how I feel about it with the next chapter. If I still don't like it, I'll drop it.

Chapter 18 of Pashiri na Boku to Koisuru Banchou.

I don't know what to say about this in regards of my opinion other than that it's cute and I like it. It's about a delinquent girl who loves an introverted boy who was always made to do stuff for others, but he doesn't understand that she loves him and thinks that she is bullying him, which he is fine with. It looks like the main character is actually starting to catch on, which is quick for main character standards.

Chapters 42 - 43 of Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari.

An otaku goes to the library, finds an empty book, and gets sent to another world, along with three others. The main character is tricked, stolen from, and accused of rape. Nearly killed, Iwatani Naofumi finds a way out by using their need for his strength. Throughout the series, the main character is seen as a villain by most. Now, without getting into detail outside of what is available in the manga, I shall stop here.

I like the story, but I find how the princess came in to protect Noafumi to be quite lame. I would have rather him find a way (or don't and just have him hate everyone while everyone hating him) to make people see the truth, or at least forgive him for what they believe is the truth. Oh well, it's a cool series and I can't wait for the anime, which might be the only anime I watch for the next few years unless Mekakucity Reloaded wants to arrive.

Chapter 74 of Saike Mata Shitemo. About to be 75 after this post.

The series started off with an arc that reminded me of Kagerou Daze, with only the first death repeated. The main character has the ability to reset the day by drowning and he uses this to save his childhood friend. As the shounen series that it is, it continued, showing more and more ability users.

I find the abilities to be extremely fun and imaginative, for example the ability to turn those whom drink the user's tea into cats. As a fan of cats, I cannot disagree with that. Fascinating. And then the ability to make anything one touches into Styrofoam, or at least make it as light and weak as such. All in all good series so far and it's just starting a new arc. Can't wait to read more.

Chapter 8 of Uzaki-chan wa Asobitai!

Compared to Takagi-san, this series is similar but different in that the girl messes with the guy but it's more of a girl annoys guy sort of series. Pestering him in ways that piss him off rather than embarrass him. As you can see, I've been comparing a lot with Takagi-san, and I suppose that's just me trying to find ways to do so. But it's the way I see it. If you like big breasts you'll probably like this.

Completed:

Love Story Aiwa. Oneshot.
I Was Wrong. Oneshot.
A Story About Kissing. Oneshot.
Kanda-kun to Serizawa-san. Oneshot.

It seems as though the only time I'll complete a series at this point are oneshots. Every series I read either never end or I quit/put them on hold before they finish and then never get back to them. Oh well, I like it this way, honestly.

So that's it, I guess. I plan to make a post every day or so to hopefully get to the goal of 100 posts by the end of the year. Hopefully I won't die and will become better at this by the end.

Sort:  

Maid-chan thinks you should concentrate more on quality. Not one post every day, but instead more words about what the mangas are about.

That's fair enough, though compared to this, I'm sure I could do both considering this didn't take much time. But honestly, I wouldn't even know what to say about them outside of direct reviews.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62