Manga OneShots - Some Interesting Oneshots I Have Read #2

in #manga7 years ago

Oneshots aren't as popular as manga in the manga reading communities on the internet.

SomeOneshotsIliked.jpg

Salam (peace)


This posts where I talk about some interesting manga One-Shots I found. Because these manga are short and can be read in less than 10 minutes. They have different charm than manga series or the short fiction.

A Manga One-Shot is Basically a short story (usually less than 60 pages) that is self-contained. When you read a one-shot you don't need any other related work to understand it and it should feel completed by it's own.

There are more One-Shots than series in Japan but those are rarely translated. So finding ones in English is very hard. Most of the translated ones are the pilot chapters of the popular manga (these are mostly published before the manga series to give the publisher an idea how popular the series would be). and other manga one-shots that are compiled with a series volume of the same authors.

So In this list, All these one-shots are interesting ones I came across.

I'll also include two and three-shots as I consider them One-shots too.

Koe no Katachi

A silent voice.jpg

by: Ooima yoshitoki

It follows a young boy when and a deaf girl who got transferred to his class... He along with his classmates bullied her because she "drags the class down"... this manga shows the acts of bulling and the consequences of it so realistically.

The series have been adapted to a very successful movie, but the one-shot is very good too. and it's shorter so you might like it better. (The English version named: "A silent Voice" can be bought from amazon.)


Tell me a Lie

TellmeALie.jpg

by: Goushou Aoyama

A short story about a girl who has the ability to see people's thoughts by looking at them... it's very short. but It's also very good that it deserve a place here. I like Aoyama's popluar works like Conan and Magic Kaito.. and this work of his is different but is not inferior to them.


Fire Tripper

FireTripper.jpg

by: Rumiko Takahashi

While it's not her best work, This one shot is my favorite from Rumiko Takahashi.. this one is about a girl who is sent back in time to fudal japan with a young boy from neighborhood.. When she came to, the boy wasn't there... She met with a young man there and "forced" him to help her looking for the young boy.

I don't know, but I feel this story is "Inuyasha but better...".

It's in a collection of one shots called "Rumic World" from the author... and I haven't read them all yet, so my favorite my change later.


Dear Green

DearGreen.jpg

by: Amyuu Sakura

This one is a pretty normal one shot. about a girl who is a bit of tomboy... she is good at music but stopped studying since she's not as good as her sister... She usually go to play music alone in her hideout, but one day she met a guy (a photographer) in that place who asked her to "hide" him... and their meeting begins to slowly change her.


In The Previous Post:

My Hero, Death Note, Naruto and Aru Asa


well, some of these oneshots were popular... but if I did post about this again I'll probably post more obscure ones. As I said before I wish there was a group that translates Treasure contestants. But well, they're all amateurs, even if one of them could be the next Kishimoto Masashi in ten years.

I hope you have enjoyed this post. Tell me if you want more of it :)



And by the way there's this steemit-anime Discord group, they can really use more members:

Steemit Anime Discord


Do you know any interesting One-Shot?

Sort:  

Koe no Katachi, I saw that movie.

Just one thing to say: my feelings ....!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72